We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love at first sight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Lake

Moraine Lake
Moraine Lake Rd. off Great Divide Hwy., Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$121*
and up
Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff
Ranked #3 of 15 Attractions in Lake Louise
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful lake nestled in the mountains is best known for its appearance on the back of the Canadian dollar bill.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love at first sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

It is called the country of thousand lakes and i have the opportunity to visit few of them. Lake Moraine,is one of the most , beautiful glacier lake and,took my breath away,when i saw it first on a chilly windy and cold afternoon. It was early May,and the Moraine Lake was still frozen.....the rugged snowcapped Ten Peaks...what a precious view to observe.It was cold so less crowded ,as we took a walk near that white frozen lake.Then we re-visited Moraine Lake on 26 June and what a miraculous change............the amazing greenish blue colour of that glacier lake sparkled in the bright sun light and the reflection of Ten peaks is a million dollar view,not a Twenty Dollar as they call.As the surface of that turquoise blue water ripple in the cold breeze ,the broken images of Ten Peaks has been quickening the heart beats........... as the beauty multiplying in the air.,We sat near the lake and then took a walk around it.There are lodge to stay and shop for souvenir hunter .When your are in such a beautiful place...............you are participating in divinity......it was a life changing moment for me.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,184
    212
    40
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our third time of visiting and this time we stayed at the Moraine Lake lodge where we took part in two of the organised walks, superbly lead by 'Hiking Hannah'. The first was the Larch Valley walk followed by Consolation Lake. The second being the easier of the two but as with everything in this part of the world, just as spectacular. Larch Valley is quite a hike but Hannah set off at a steady pace allowing walkers of all abilities to enjoy and complete this trip.

The lodge had an evening talk on wildlife and on this occasion it was about birds which was actually very good and informative. No WiFi or TV in the rooms which actually allows for you to switch off from the outside world on your vacation, albeit for a short period of time.

We took a canoe out onto the lake and walked to the top of the rock pile to get that all important money shot of this fabulous lake.

The food at the lodge was fabulous and accommodation was perfect for us, allowing for very comfortable and quiet nights sleep up in the woods.

Just a fabulous place

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I had read a review regarding Lake Louise and Lake Moraine and even though Lake Louise gets all the accolades and rightly so , Lake Moraine is something special too . It isn't as touristy .

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is close by Lake Louise and well worth the drive. Beautiful area. Great for Photography, hiking and just breathing the fresh mountain air.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Better than Lake Louise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just a short drive away from Lake Louise but well worth the journey - would have rated it as a 5 if the car parking had been better, we had to park at the side of the road about 15 minutes walk to the lake trying to avoid the heavy traffic. Once there the views are wonderful - better than those around Lake Louise. Despite the crowds that were there it soon became quite peaceful walking along the trail around the side of the lake, where did they all go?.

It is well worth the drive to get to Morraine Lake but, if you can, try to go during off peak periods. If you can't don't be put off - it is worth the hassle parking once you get there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moraine Lake also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Moraine Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moraine Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.