We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Lake

Moraine Lake
Moraine Lake Rd. off Great Divide Hwy., Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #3 of 13 Attractions in Lake Louise
Type: Bodies of Water
Activities: Hiking, Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This beautiful lake nestled in the mountains is best known for its appearance on the back of the Canadian dollar bill.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is our favorite spot on the planet. You must view from the top of the rockpile. Come early and watch the mtn reflection in the lake give way to the aqua color as the sun comes across the lake. This view didn't appear on the back of the Canadian $20 bill by accident. Banff and Jasper are so magnificent I really can't imagine why you would want to go all the way to Europe...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    989
    175
    35
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Natural Beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

There's a reason this is one of the most photographed spots in Canada. A short and relatively easy hike will take you up to what they call the Twenty Dollar View... snap a picture there and you'll see the lake and mountains that were featured on the old Canadian $20 bills. I liked this lake much more than Lake Louise since it's not quite as commercial and crowded, but I still feel that Emerald Lake is the real gem of the area if you're looking for a place to get away from it all.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“You can visit a postcard!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We visited Moraine Lake in august 2011.
Be on time to take a boat and enjoy the view.
One of the most beautiful places of Canada!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Visited this lake many times over the years, in all weathers and it is still stunningly beautiful with the most magic of mountains surrounding it. High season is not a good time to visit because, although it is further on from Lake Louise, there are still a lot of people, all trying to take the same photos. We have always been fortunate enough to go back during the quieter time of the day, when coach parties etc have long gone and the area takes on a more tranquil feel.

So many beautiful lakes to visit but when in Jasper drive to Medicine Lake - very magical

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

When I clambered over the crest of the moraine the view that unfolded across the tranquil, turquoise lake towards the snow-topped mountains literally took my breath away. Without question, this was the most beautiful vista I have ever seen. Some time later I still think about it, and one day will return.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moraine Lake also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Moraine Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moraine Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.