We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can visit a postcard!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Lake

Moraine Lake
Moraine Lake Rd. off Great Divide Hwy., Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 attractions in Lake Louise
Type: Bodies of Water
Activities: Hiking, Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This beautiful lake nestled in the mountains is best known for its appearance on the back of the Canadian dollar bill.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“You can visit a postcard!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We visited Moraine Lake in august 2011.
Be on time to take a boat and enjoy the view.
One of the most beautiful places of Canada!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    818
    149
    31
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Visited this lake many times over the years, in all weathers and it is still stunningly beautiful with the most magic of mountains surrounding it. High season is not a good time to visit because, although it is further on from Lake Louise, there are still a lot of people, all trying to take the same photos. We have always been fortunate enough to go back during the quieter time of the day, when coach parties etc have long gone and the area takes on a more tranquil feel.

So many beautiful lakes to visit but when in Jasper drive to Medicine Lake - very magical

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

When I clambered over the crest of the moraine the view that unfolded across the tranquil, turquoise lake towards the snow-topped mountains literally took my breath away. Without question, this was the most beautiful vista I have ever seen. Some time later I still think about it, and one day will return.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The Fairest of them All”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Absolutely, stunningly beautiful! A total MUST see! So worth the drive from Lake Louise. Take a boat out on the lake and see how the surrounding trees and mountains reflect in the water. Then climb the moraine and look out over the water. Very nice restaurant in season (summer), lots of parking and clean facilities.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“MORAINE LAKE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful lakes I have ever seen. We came upon this lake by accident on our way up to Lake Louse not knowing what would be down this narrow road. to the left before getting up to Lake Louise. Do not miss this place. We were there about ten years ago.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moraine Lake also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Moraine Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moraine Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Moraine Lake to your Saves list