We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful lake I have seen!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Lake

Moraine Lake
Moraine Lake Rd. off Great Divide Hwy., Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-522-3733
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$112*
and up
Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking, Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful lake nestled in the mountains is best known for its appearance on the back of the Canadian dollar bill.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Most beautiful lake I have seen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Of all the beautiful lakes in Alberta, Lake Moraine was my favorite! Just picture perfect! Dont miss this gem. To get to the viewpoint, go behind the rockpile trail to the left of the parking lot. Easy to find! Take lots of photos!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,385
    244
    44
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This lake is stunningly beautiful and we think it is the best of all the lakes in the national park if not the world. To get the best view and the most of your visit you need to walk up to the “twenty dollar view”. This is a short walk up an easy, paved path to climb up a little from the waters shoreline. From the elevated viewpoint you get a stunning view of the beautifully coloured lake and the mountains behind. If you are in the area you must visit here!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The most beautiful Lake in the Rockies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The lake is absolutely beautiful. There are fewer tourists here than in Lake Louise and that is really nice. The lake itself is spectacularly beautiful and the backdrop of the mountains makes it just stunning. The climb on to the rock pile and the walk near the lake is very enjoyable. We would have loved to canoe on the lake but it was windy the day we were there and there was no canoeing. This is the most beautiful lake in the Rockies.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Incredibly beautiful glacial lake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Prettier than Lake Louise!! Don't miss this lake. It's iconic Canadian Rockies. If you can come early in the morning, you'll see the lake at its best and without the horrible, shocking crowds. A cloudless day makes it perfection.

My husband and I came here in July 2012. We had also visited in 2008 and one other previous trip. It's breathtaking every time.

On this 2012 visit, we rented a canoe and really enjoyed seeing the lake that way. It was new and fun for us, and we loved it. I recommend it for a splurge or change of pace.

Just remember to come early to beat the crowds. This lake has definitely already been discovered, which is unfortunate.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely lake and area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Enjoyed the visit , actually as a side visit to Lake Louise. Good for canoeing, and hike. Has good rental options. Nice hotels and restaurants. A little crowded parking in summer, but you'll get one if you arrive before 10 in the morning.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moraine Lake also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Moraine Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moraine Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.