We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful! Prefer to Lake Louise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Lake

Moraine Lake
Moraine Lake Rd. off Great Divide Hwy., Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Visit Moraine Lake like an insider
Top Rated
$116*
and up
Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Lake Louise
Activities: Hiking, Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful lake nestled in the mountains is best known for its appearance on the back of the Canadian dollar bill.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful! Prefer to Lake Louise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Moraine Lake was one of my favorite parts to Banff National Park. I actually think I prefer Moraine Lake to Lake Louise, as it has a slightly less touristic vibe to it and has more of a lost in the mountains and wandered upon this beautiful lake feel to it. Enjoyed the stroll through the woods around the lake's shoreline and took in the amazing sight and all the fresh air!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,236
    218
    41
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great mountain view accessible only by boat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had great animal sightings on the way to the lake and once on the boat we were really glad we went. The mountain scenery is spectacular and the boat trip is the only way to see it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

One of the prettiest lakes we saw in Canada. Much nicer than Lake Louise and fewer tourists.
The only downside is the awful toilets!
Make sure you visit here!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Premiere View in the Banff-Lake Louise Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I'm a wedding photographer, and know the Banff/Lake Louise area very well, and I have to say in my view the view from the top of the rock pile is the most beautiful view in the Banff/Lake Louise area. The pile is easy to climb -- it has steps! so get up there! And for the most heavenly, surreal experience you'll have in a long time, rent yourself a canoe and paddle all around the lake. Just a breathtaking, peaceful experience. I am so lucky to live this close to all that.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southend on sea
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great views and lovely colours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We went twice to the lake once during the afternoon and again hoping to get some better camera shots. The colour was completely different in the morning and much better during the afternoon. It was indeed a wonderful place and not so commercial as Lake Louise. It could have done with a few information signs explaining for example why there was such a huge pile of timber stacked up at the outlet. But nontheless well worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moraine Lake also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Moraine Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moraine Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.