We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Louise

Lake Louise
111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
1-877-956-8473-1-403-522-3555
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Lake Louise like an insider
Top Rated
$188*
and up
Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier...
Ranked #5 of 17 things to do in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking, Ice skating
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful lake surrounded by woods and hiking trails.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015 NEW

The most beautiful lace we have ever been this morning we walked around the lake it is stunningly beautiful we stayed at the Dear Lodge just 5 minutes walk to the lake lovely like stepping back in time

Visited June 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    863
    272
    58
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holladay, Utah
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Iconic! Seen many times in photos, but to be there is breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015 NEW

Driving up to the lake was a visual delight looking at the Canadian Rockies, but arriving at Lake Louise was splendid! Really beyond description for my old eyes. Nature in all it's wonder and beauty. The parking and facilities were nice but a bit crowded. I can't imagine the chaos it must be in summer. Glad we went when we did!

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015 NEW

I met a family who were on their way last year (as we were flying to Calgary) - anyway I managed to be back up this way this year. So visited the Lake. Well worth going out and seeing - walk around and take in the scenery with the landscape. I also hired a mountain bike from Wilson Mountain Sports in the Village and rode up - about 5kms and was a beautiful way to see more of the country side. I would definitely recommend this as an alternative to the car.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful places in the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015 NEW

I love Lake Louise and I never tire of visiting. At the time we lived in Calgary, and whenever we received friends/families in Calgary, we were going there. A short two-hour drive by car.The best time to visit and take pictures is in spring and summer, but even in winter has its own charm, with exposure of several ice sculptures.
The greatest difficulty for our friends tourists / relatives is to find restaurants with good prices, the region of Banff and Lake Louise are often expensive, especially for those coming from the US where tourism is more affordable. But I can say that IS WORTH! We already live in Europe and we usually travel with frequency, I can say that nothing compares the beauty of Lake Louise and Lake Moraine, they are among the most beautiful lakes in the world.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
95 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015 NEW

In a word.... AMAZING.

This turquoise colored lake is breathtaking and cannot be described in words.

It is located 4km out of Lake Louise with free parking provided.
There is no entry fee to visit, with a lakeside bush walk or longer bush walk tracks well sign posted.

Canoe hire is available.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Louise also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Louise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.