We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST SEE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peyto Lake

Peyto Lake
| Icefield Parkway, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$191*
and up
Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier...
Ranked #4 of 18 things to do in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 attraction reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A MUST SEE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Peyto Lake was once a Glacier-it has receded approx. 2 kilometres over the past century but is still an amazing site.We visited in 15th June 2014 and the road was closed at the bottom parking area so had a steady climb, but older people took there time and said that it was well worth the effort.
Don't drive past!!.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    671
    135
    17
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We almost didn't stop at this location, but ended up stopping for the walk - were we ever happy we did!! It's only a short walk from the car parking lot to the view of the lake, and it's one of the nicest lakes we saw during our entire trip!!! Make sure to bring the camera!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Most beautiful color”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just worth seeing! All the lakes are beautiful and so unlike other lakes you are used to seeing because of the fantastic colors.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
52 attraction reviews
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Fantastic sight but beware if you are not fit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Peyto Lake is an amazing sight - we dropped in twice while driving the Icefields Parkways in both directions.
But there is a short steep walk from the normal parking area and we noticed many older people and some people with prams struggling with the walk. So I would suggest anyone who has a heart problem or who isn't fairly fit, to drive to the bus/disabled parking area to avoid the steep hike.
The walk is nice but wouldn't be if you're really struggling.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloha, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Icefield Parkway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

While on the Icefield Parkway on the way to Jasper we passed Peyto Lake. At the end of May the lake was still frozen. It still was a beautiful sight. The whole drive from Lake Louise to Jasper was one of the most beautiful I have ever seen.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peyto Lake also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Peyto Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peyto Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.