We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peyto Lake

Peyto Lake
| Icefield Parkway, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$180*
and up
Best Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier...
Ranked #4 of 18 things to do in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

So pretty and blue even on the most miserable of days. It was raining heavily when I went to Peyto lake but the colour of it was still breath taking. Worth the short hike up.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    736
    151
    21
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

this is a beautiful place there are many other places you can get a little closer to the beauty...but if you have time this is a place to see. It will be busy!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“A beautiful Lake with a short hike - well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We first went to this lake in about 2006 and were glad we did. This lake is kind of shaped like a dogs head. It is claimed to be the most colorful lake in the Rockies, but I find Moraine Lake to be a prettier blue. That being said, this is an easy walk from the parking lot to an observation platform overlooking the lake. It is a spectacular view of the lake and the valley. For handicapped/wheelchair, there is an upper parking lot where you don't have to do the walk.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Peyto Lake & Bow Summit Lookout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you are driving along the Icefields Parkway, a stop at Peyto Lake is an absolute must. Yes, it's only a short trail up to the viewpoint and it can be very crowded up there (so be aware of that)...especially in the summer months. If you can visit either before 10.00am or after 4.00pm and you may be able to avoid the big crowds. And if you have some time and want to get away from the crowds you should follow the Bow Summit Lookout Trail which starts at the Peyto Lake viewing platform.

Many people only walk the paved nature trail to the Peyto Lake viewing platform. However, if you continue past the viewing platform and climb another 3km (1.9 miles) to the Bow Summit Lookout you will find some amazing views away from all the crowds. In my mind definitely worth it if you have a couple of hours for this hike. Here is a link to a PDF file with a very good description of this trail: http://www.summerthought.com/50Walks_sample.pdf

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spectacular lake scenery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I went to this lake 4 times on my trip through Alberta Canada. One day I went around 0800 hours and it was totally fogged in. It made for some unique photos. While waiting for the fog to clear I drove south about five minutes to bow lake and got some beautiful reflection photos with some beautiful pink flowers in the foreground.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peyto Lake also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Peyto Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peyto Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.