We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peyto Lake & Bow Summit Lookout” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peyto Lake

Peyto Lake
| Icefield Parkway, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 attractions in Lake Louise
Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Peyto Lake & Bow Summit Lookout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you are driving along the Icefields Parkway, a stop at Peyto Lake is an absolute must. Yes, it's only a short trail up to the viewpoint and it can be very crowded up there (so be aware of that)...especially in the summer months. If you can visit either before 10.00am or after 4.00pm and you may be able to avoid the big crowds. And if you have some time and want to get away from the crowds you should follow the Bow Summit Lookout Trail which starts at the Peyto Lake viewing platform.

Many people only walk the paved nature trail to the Peyto Lake viewing platform. However, if you continue past the viewing platform and climb another 3km (1.9 miles) to the Bow Summit Lookout you will find some amazing views away from all the crowds. In my mind definitely worth it if you have a couple of hours for this hike. Here is a link to a PDF file with a very good description of this trail: http://www.summerthought.com/50Walks_sample.pdf

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    96
    14
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Spectacular lake scenery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I went to this lake 4 times on my trip through Alberta Canada. One day I went around 0800 hours and it was totally fogged in. It made for some unique photos. While waiting for the fog to clear I drove south about five minutes to bow lake and got some beautiful reflection photos with some beautiful pink flowers in the foreground.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Hidden secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have never seen the colour of water so blue and green, very easy to miss the sign if you aren't looking for it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Amazing place but could do with better signposting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Coaches for the tour groups park at the top car park nearest to the outlook, cars in the car park below and you have to walk up the hill...bit of a pull for those less fit.

The outlook gets crowded by the tour groups how go for a 5 second look and a quick snap. It is better to make your way along the trails off the main drag and get away from the crowds. Our guide books mention another outlook which is a good walk away (I can't remember how far they said) but we could not find it. It didn't matter though, as we were happy to sit on some rocks and soak up the amazing views.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“View to die for !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Lake Peyto is a must watch if you are in and aroudn Canadian Rockey area. We travelled to Banff and Icefield Parkway from Toronto in Sep-2011. The whole area is so dreamy and fascinating. Peyto lake in particular is not as celebrated as lake louise, but trust me it was the most brilliant water color I ever saw in my life... A well-defined pathway leads you to the viewing platform. The place is much less crowded than other tourist spots in this area. All in all a must see in Rocky Mountains trip!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peyto Lake also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Peyto Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peyto Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.