We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View to die for !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peyto Lake

Peyto Lake
| Icefield Parkway, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 attractions in Lake Louise
Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“View to die for !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Lake Peyto is a must watch if you are in and aroudn Canadian Rockey area. We travelled to Banff and Icefield Parkway from Toronto in Sep-2011. The whole area is so dreamy and fascinating. Peyto lake in particular is not as celebrated as lake louise, but trust me it was the most brilliant water color I ever saw in my life... A well-defined pathway leads you to the viewing platform. The place is much less crowded than other tourist spots in this area. All in all a must see in Rocky Mountains trip!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    86
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful coloured Lake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This lake looks incredible! Do not drive past this place without visiting. By far the best coloured most vibrant lake we saw out of all the iconic lakes in the rockies. We tried to do a hike away from the paved viewing areas but came across very soft unstable snow that you'd sink into up to the middle of your thighs, so we turned back. But there are stunning views from everywhere around the area, although it seems to have it's own weather climate and i think it's rare to not get any clouds, but i do find it created a great contrast against the mountains and the stunning colour of the lake.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Put on your bug spray before hitting the trail... this area is full of mosquitoes! A short and easy hike up a well-defined trail leads you to the viewing platform. This is fairly off the beaten path and not commercialized at all, so there are very few people. (We were the only ones when we visited in July) The scenery is absolutely beautiful, from the snow-capped peaks to the bright aqua blue of the glacier-fed lake. If you like beautiful views of nature and don't mind an easy hike, this is definitely worth your time!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't miss Peyto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Peyto was my very first sighting of a glacial melt water lake and it truly is spectacular in every possible way. Do try to dip a toe in the lake if you’re brave enough, the multisensory experience – unbeatable and unforgetable. Alan321 and I seem to have consulted the same guide. “ .. walk uphill beyond the main viewing platform and at the point where the main trail turns left take a trail to the right, continue for about 5mins and you will find yourself looking down on the glacier and Peyto Lake from a spot where you’re likely to have the view all to yourself.”

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Awesome view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Just a short hike from the parking lot. Beautiful view from above the lake. One of the must-stop in the Canadian Rockies

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peyto Lake also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Peyto Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peyto Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Peyto Lake to your Saves list