We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Literally takes your breath away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peyto Lake

Peyto Lake
| Icefield Parkway, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Visit Peyto Lake like an insider
Top Rated
$193*
and up
Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier...
Ranked #4 of 17 things to do in Lake Louise
Attraction details
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Literally takes your breath away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I've been to the Rockies many times and this place amazes me every time. There's no way to explain how amazing it is. Just go see for yourself!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    126
    14
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

There is a way up the hill from the road to have the best views of this lake. One of the best places that one person could see. The color of the water is just unbelieveble.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Canadian Rockies scenery at its best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

There isn't any point in repeating what everyone else has said. I'll just add a tip picked up in a guide book.
If you walk uphill beyond the main viewing platform and then take a trail to the right at the point where the main trail turns left, walk for about five minutes and you will find yourself looking down onto Peyto Lake and the glacier from a spot of splendid isolation. We had the view entirely to ourselves for fifteen or twenty minutes. That way you really begin to appreciate the grandeur of the situation.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“No photograph can capture this.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We visited Peyto lake as part of a day trip with Discover Banff Tours, we were in fact on the way to the Athabasca glacier. The stop here made me smile and I'm still smiling about it. Stopping in the car park gives no clue as to what awaits only a short walk away. A good surfaced pathway to a viewing platform.......and I just wasn't prepared for the view. I smile because I don't think anyone else was prepared either. The stunned silence broken only by whispers of "WOW". Thank goodness my memory is working well - because no photograph of mine, or any others I have seen, gives complete justice to possibly the most stunning scenery I have ever witnessed. If you only have time to see just one sight then this has to be no.1 on the list. Absolutely breathtakingly awesome......

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Peyto Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

One of many impressive views along the Icefield Parkway. We were there on 13 July, 2012 during a heat wave, temperatures getting into the mid thirties. Something we did not expect. And that was combined with a mosquito plague. But the walk up the forest track from the car park was certainly worth the effort. Our timing was such that we were there late morning. Early morning would be best for getting good photos.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peyto Lake also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Peyto Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peyto Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.