We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burgers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tommy's Neighbourhood Pub

Tommy's Neighbourhood Pub
120 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
(403) 762-8888
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 123 restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I really liked the burgers they serve, probably the best burgers I've ever tried. The service was very good and they have a big selection of salads and snacks. It's a really nice democratic place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    46
    48
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great service, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went to Tommy's after not being brought food at the Elk & Oarsmen across the street for over an hour. We should have come to Tommy's first. Our server was friendly, and greeted us within seconds of sitting down on the patio. She brought our drinks right away, and took our food order. Our appetizer was out 8 minutes after we had ordered it and was delicious (spinach dip, served in a bread bowl!). The burgers here are fantastic, and you have the choice of beef, chicken, elk, bison, and I may be forgetting somehting else for the patty. Our meals came quite quickly, and we were done our meal within 45 minutes of sitting down, despite the place being a little busy. The patio, though small, was full and there were a number of tables full inside the pub.

After the horrible experience I had across the street, Tommy's was a breath of fresh air. The pub may not look like much from the outside, but it has friendly service, great food, and great prices. This was my second trip to Tommy's and I will certainly be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathmore, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best bang for your buck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Good service , good pub food at a good price. Anytime we,ve been there the steak sandwich special , fish and chips good . We go there at least once every trip to banff.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regina, canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Worth finding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Have eaten lunch at this restaurant twice over the last 8 months and have enjoyed it both times. Although it's located right on Banff Avenue, a few blocks away from the bridge, it's a little tough to find because it is located down a flight of steps and a little below street level. I think the location puts some people off - last time we ate there we sat at the outside patio and watched lots of people walk up, check the menu, then look around and walk away. What a shame, they probably missed the best food for their money in Banff. Burgers are fantastic (try the Black Jack) and a glass of wine is very decently priced for a resort town. Value is very good, and my wife and I paid much more for other meals in this town that we enjoyed much less. We'll be back again next time we visit Banff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Local hangout - the best perogies.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Food here is very decent.

They really have the best perogies I have ever had!

Service is a bit "rough around the edges" sometimes, but what else could you ask for from a local pub.

Beer and drinks are well-priced and Tommy, the owner, is a character!

We will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Neighbourhood Pub also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Tommy's Neighbourhood Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommy's Neighbourhood Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.