We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed dinner at The Bison” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bison Restaurant

The Bison Restaurant
#213, 211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
403-762-5550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bison Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Caribou
Midland, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Enjoyed dinner at The Bison”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

We had our hearts set on The Maple Leaf for dinner during the Easter weekend but alas we waited too long to book so we had to look elsewhere. Happy to discover The Bison has the same owners and same commitment to tasty food and excellent wine. We tried the signature dishes other diners have raved about and were not disappointed. The roasted squash from the hot and fiery oven was super. The prices are significant but overall we were good with our choices, the service and the friendly staff. We were seated near the open kitchen which is good if you like action while you are dining - also a little noisy when you add the music and entrance. Definitely ask for a table near the windows for a more romantic dining experience. We appreciated the dessert offered to celebrate a birthday.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    169
    68
    31
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fancy and pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

I had the pork, It was difficult to cut up from the massive chunk and not as flavorful as I would like. the escargot and bone marrow was good. the Sangria was full of pulped berries and difficult to drink the last 1/3. The ambiance was great

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton,Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food, but overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

First of all, I have to say that this restaurant has both an upper and a lower restaurant. The upper is a fine dinning restaurant called the Bison and the lower is a pizza and beer place called the Bear Street Tavern. Many people here are making the mistake that they are the same restaurant. We tried them both.

The Bison has been on our list to try and it was quite good. We shared the Bison ravioli and scallops, the bison carpaccio and the gnocchi poutine. I would do the ravioli and poutine again, but the carpaccio was small and just meh...For dinner I had the braised bison short ribs and my wife had the lamb. I felt my short rib was a litter over cooked, but it was still pretty good. My wife liked her lamb, but at the end of the day it was just another lamb. Nothing to write home about. We also shared a bottle of really nice Syrah red wine. Michael David, 6th sense Syrah. Highly recommend it.

All and all we found the prices were a little high and that includes the wine list. The food was good, not great. Would I go back? Probably not.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food. Super service. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

The Bison took us without a reservation on Easter Sunday with our 6 month old IN his stroller! We were told by a nearby steakhouse that baba would not be permitted entry in his stroller even though he was asleep. So we duly moved around the corner and found the Bison rest. And what a gem! They took us up to their fine dining room with beautiful views at the back. They couldn't have been more accommodating. I had a delicious Caesar salad to start and the prime rib which was cooked perfectly and very very tasty. Sides were very good. My better half had short rib which he devoured in no time. Which was preceded by scallops which were just divine. All in all a very good meal and top drawer service with lots of smiles. Would never complain about the few dollars extra here as great service with lots of tasty food is not on every corner despite what trip advisor reviews say! Unbelievable that this establishment is ranked behind a regular old steakhouse

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good pizza, Excellent beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

My wife and I had been meaning to go to this place for a while now, and finally managed to get there on our most recent trip to Banff.

And the deciding factor was it was pizza night, selected pizzas were $10, and also we went in their Happy Hour and got cheap beer - what's not to like?

I had the Donair Pizza, which was very good, but after 3/4 of it, it started to be a little bit sweet, so I would go for a more traditional pizza next time.

It is a very popular place, especially on Pizza night, we managed to get a seat at the bar, and by the time we left, the place was packed.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bison Restaurant also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bison Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bison Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.