We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss Bison” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bison Restaurant

The Bison Restaurant
#213, 211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
403-762-5550
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #15 of 120 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Caribou
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't miss Bison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 NEW

We don't normally make repeat visits to restaurants if we're in a place for a short time, but in three nights in Banff, we went twice to Bison. The first night I had the duck, which was excellent, but not nearly as good as the bison 'short ribs' that my wife ordered. This dish was actually a kind of bison stew - with tasty vegetables and deliciously tender meat. The second night, I ordered the short ribs, while my wife went for a bison steak - also delicious. Service is friendly and efficient. Bison is not cheap. We paid $50 for a bottle of Cabernet/Merlot, and our overall bill each time came out at around $150. But it is worth the money because you get real quality food. You are also given a 10% discount for meals at three associated restauarants, or for a repeat visit to Bison.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    219
    118
    52
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Annual birthday treat restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Had the duck again this year, and I'm sure I nearly licked my plate clean!! Enjoyed an amazing bold wine from Yakima, WA, along with escargot served in bone marrow - who knew fat was so delicious.

The birthday boy had the Bison ribeye, and it was a huge size, probably 12oz.

It's an open concept, so it's really loud, get a table against the windows in the bar for a nice romantic evening

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We found this place thru Tripadvisor. First evening we could not get in without reservation. We made reservation for a second evening in town. It was good idea.
Food was of a highest standards. Quality was very good. The fish and bison burgers (two different peoples) were well prepared.
Beer selection is large, but mainly local brands. Place is a little on a tight side.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We go to Banff several times a year but this was the first time we ate at this restaurant on the recommendation of a local resident. We had lunch in the bar area. The three of us decided to share the artichoke dip, a pizza and the pulled pork nachos...all amazing and unqiue!! There isn't a lot of space between tables so it isn't the most private place to eat but it was charming and cozy! I highly recommend this restaurant!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Great find! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Found this place through trip advisor and what a great find! Location, food, service and surroundings all made for a perfect family meal! Will definitely be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bison Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bison Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bison Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.