We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bison Restaurant

The Bison Restaurant
#213, 211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
403-762-5550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bison Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 124 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Caribou
St. John's, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

There were so many breakfast options that sounded delicious, it was very difficult to choose. In the end, we both went with eggs benedict; one with duck confit and goat's cheese, and the other with candaian bacon.
Both were very nicely done, and customized to our liking. Portions were large
The waitress was also very nice in offering Bailey's with our coffee.
The view was lovely.
Will definitely visit for breakfast again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    141
    59
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lively with a great wait staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Liked the energy of this place. Food was great and my son even tried a buffalo burger. The wine selection was top notch.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yum and lots of options for a diverse crowd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Went here for a work dinner. It is a roomy place (upstairs) and very accommodating for a large group. We had people with dietary restrictions, so they made minor adjustments to the menu selection (special for the group) to ensure that there were starters for those that could not take the ones on the other menu.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bison in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My first taste of bison!
This is a lovely spacious restaurant, with super nice high back chairs (only certain tables). Unfortunately we were only hungry enough for mains (I had bison burger), and a lovely glass of red. The service was good, the waiter was very chatty and full of info.

The food was really very good and I would recommend it as a dining option if you are in Banff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stayed in Banff less than a year ago and came here. I had incredible Bison Ribs, and my wife had the steelhead, both were great and topped off with freshly made cookies to dip in milk and Kahlua for dessert. It was an excellent meal, and I would highly recommend it

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bison Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bison Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bison Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.