We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bison Restaurant

The Bison Restaurant
#213, 211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
403-762-5550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bison Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 121 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Caribou
gerpinnes
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great food, overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We ate there tonight, on the patio. Very cramped seating, literally touching people behind me. The food (bison) was very good but the meal was really overpriced, as was the wine. For that reason I wouldn't recommend the place unless you're prepared to fork out 70 dollars per person. Service was very friendly and effective.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    241
    129
    54
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious local fare served with sense of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Delicious meal, service was a friendly and helpful though a little slow between 1st and 2nd course as there was a large party seated near by. As we were not in a hurry then it did not matter.

The bison Carpaccio and baked whole cauliflower with garlic were both tasty and unusual starters.
Main courses were good quality meat....Best Alberta Beef and rack of lamb. cooked to perfection

all in all a lovely meal... we had not room for for the desserts...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife, son (14) and daughter (16) ate here a couple days ago.

The food was fantastic, my son ordered the Bison Shank, my daughter the Bison Rib Eye, and I had the tenderloin. Can't remember what my wife had.

Everybody's meal was fantastic, food nicely arranged (stacked) and delivered piping hot.

Drinks were excellent, they have a well stocked wine list and lots of local brews.

The philosophy of buying locally produced ingredients really shows through.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We ate downstairs in the pizza place. Great casual atmostphere and good for families. Very busy but servers were friendly and efficient. Outdoor space looked like a great option. Beer menu is fun and great options to try. Hubby and I shared an appetiser and pizza and was perfect amount of food. Definitely try the chili oil and honey on your pizza. We were sceptical but server convinced us and it added a whole new dimension to the pizza.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
509 reviews 509 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 185 cities Reviews in 185 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
“Excellent Food. Buzzy atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Lots of locally produced food; beautifully and creatively prepared; reasonable quantities that leave you satisfied but not bloated or starving.... and a comprehensive and quality wine list majoring on Canadian wines (the red we had was outstanding). Service is slick and professional. The place is comfortable and buzzy - you need to book here unless eating very late when the crowds thin out a bit. Must be the best restaurant in Banff by a long way. Prices high but worth the money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bison Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bison Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bison Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.