We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasurable Dining Experience in Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bison Restaurant

The Bison Restaurant
#213, 211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
403-762-5550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bison Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 125 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Caribou
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Pleasurable Dining Experience in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I went to this restaurant in Banff with a large group of people on a Saturday night. The service was excellent and the food enjoyable. I had a delicious salad with figs and spiced nuts and the roasted chicken. My choice from a pre-selected menu. Next time I would like to come back and order off the restaurant's main evening menu. The restaurant appeared to have an extensive wine list. Looking forward to trying this restaurant in the future with my family.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    145
    60
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Father's Day Brunch, then back for Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

wow, what excellent food. I ordered the rib eye eggs benedict which my brother was eyeing and he ordered the french toast stuffed with gruyere and bacon and topped with whipped cream and berries which I was eyeing. We split both and both devoured it all. It was so tasty and uniquely Canadian that I took my own family back for dinner the same night. They have a decent kids menu. Their salads are very unique, fresh and tasty, but small portions. The mains - we both had steak - were also unique, incredibly tasty, cooked to perfection and brought to our table piping hot. It is fine dining, but casual. highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced, underquality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was priced to be a high class restaurant, but the food didn't follow suit in quality. I was very under impressed by everything, and I am not a hard person to please. The only thing they have going for them is that their food is organic and local. They just need to learn to cook it now.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding Bison”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great service, amazing food. The only downside is that they are not a gluten free friendly restaurant. Very little selection with those who have dietary need.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went by the suggestions here and so glad we did, best meal we had on our Rocky Mountaineer 9 day trip around BC except for the train meals. The Bison was exceptional food and I would definitely return there again for a dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bison Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bison Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bison Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.