We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bison Restaurant

The Bison Restaurant
#213, 211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
403-762-5550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bison Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 122 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Caribou
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went by the suggestions here and so glad we did, best meal we had on our Rocky Mountaineer 9 day trip around BC except for the train meals. The Bison was exceptional food and I would definitely return there again for a dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    243
    132
    56
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great food and good service. Family friendly, kids meal was offered. Beef and duck did not disappoint.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best meal of our 11 day trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was the best meal on our trip! We ate at the Fairmont Banff Springs and Chateau as well as Primrose in the Rimrock and this was by far a better meal. It's not that the others were bad, it was that The Bison was exceptional. We went there for wings night and BYOB wine (with no corkage fee). All that action took place downstairs in the bar, we were accidentally seated upstairs and once looking at the menu lost our appetite for ribs. Fresh, organic and local ingredients made up the entrees. The staff was knowledgeable on food and wine but not pretentious. For dinner we had the Gnocchi and dessert was the most amazing and creative chocolate dish. My husband and I eat at many fine dining restaurants and were impressed with the quality, service and ambiance. Laid back chic in Banff, enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south portland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very expensive and felt ripped off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have just returned after a fun evening at the Bison spoiled by the ending .The food was good but expensive.However the wine left us feeling ripped off .We had three bottles of wine ,between 6 people,and ended up paying 98 dollars per bottle for BC Malbec and 65 dollars for BC Pinot Grigio .The wine list had not been clear Making it difficult to identify which price went with which wine..This left us with a very sour feeling have had a fun evening ..Just beware .good food but we felt ripped off!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, good selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have been to the Bison several times and every time I have enjoyed my experience. The food is always creative and delicious with a decent variety so there is something for everyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bison Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park

Been to The Bison Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bison Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.