We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pizza!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bison Restaurant

The Bison Restaurant
#213, 211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
403-762-5550
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #14 of 120 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Caribou
Laval, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This nice restaurant + terrace in Banff, Alberta, has fantastic pizza,(I'm from an Italian background) so I know great pizzas, lol. The salads are to die for + the desserts are delicious. Went for lunch, so very casual, but then, all is casual in beautiful Banff!!

Prices are quite reasonable, the service was great; actually the waitress was extremely pleasant helped everyone with their choices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    220
    118
    52
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

As higher end restaurants go, this place was adequate. I saw a review somewhere that stated this place was worth travelling a long distance to eat... but that's a stretch. They did nothing wrong, but nothing special. I'd certainly eat there again, but I wouldn't go out of my way. Good service and decent food, just nothing to rave about.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Banff is a great place to visit all year round. The Bison Restaurant is one of those places that makes the difference. Excellent service, and delicious dishes! Definitely a place to go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food at a price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Made our annual treck to Banff and booked our favorite restaurant for dinner. While the Bison continues to be great food the pricing continues to hold it back from being rated higher. Banff has lots of competition now and there are some great places that offer excellent food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mixture of excellent and adequate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

A really neat restaurant and a great concept. I appreciate how they've worked to include local foods in the menu. My friend's meal of tortiere followed by a steak entree was phenomenal. My meal which was the boar meat pizza followed by venison was not as flavourful unfortunately. Nonetheless, a satisfying experience overall.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bison Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bison Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bison Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.