We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tue nights!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bison Restaurant

The Bison Restaurant
#213, 211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
403-762-5550
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #15 of 120 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Caribou
banff
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Tue nights!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

$10 calzones. Is the special on tues. I'm not sure of the other specials offered on the other days of the week. But I cannot pass up this Tuesday deal. The best part is its half a block from the movie theater. After spending $20 including a beer and tip at the tavern I get the Tuesday welfare deal at the movie theater. Service and food at the bison is quick and friendly

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    219
    118
    52
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great tasting food.. had the venison appetizer,bison ribeye and creme brule. Simply awesome!Good service. Will definatly return!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The Aroma!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Upstairs meat house - what more could I ask for? The aroma of the wood oven is something that lingers, and wakes up your taste buds - large place with great buzz. Food was good, meat meat meat.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“truly outstanding meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

a girlfriend and i did a last minute overnight spa trip to banff in december. she and i are both foodies so when i found this place online and read the menu i knew this was our dinner plan.

and, well, it did not disappoint. everything was bang on... the service, the ambiance, the wine, the food. we shared the escargot, ravioli and flatbread (... we were pretty hungry ; )). i was suprised at how much i enjoyed the escargot. buttery and soft and not too chewy - just delicious. as a main i had the bison short ribs that melted in my mouth the meat was cooked to perfection. unfortunately we were just too full so we had to skip dessert... next time for sure.

it's a busy place, reserve ahead if you can. its well worth it. they have a well deserved reputation in the town. i look forward to going back which i think, as a foodie, is the ultimate compliment you can give any restaurant!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Had a great date at the Bison. Inviting, comfortable atmosphere. We actually sat at the bar area facing Banff Ave and chatted with the bartender who provided exceptional service (which was a first on a trip with multiple dining experiences).

Cocktails are fresh and delicious. I recommend the vitamin C (Ginger Vodka, Carrot Juice, Pineapple Juice, and a Rosemary sprig)... Surprisingly tasty. My main course, New York Strip, was perfectly cooked with great seasoning.

All beef and products are from local farms and they even sourced bread baskets made of baked tree bark from the local Wild Flour shop in town.

This is a great spot for a date or nice meal with family. A bit pricey, but worthy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bison Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bison Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bison Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.