We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great date” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bison Restaurant

The Bison Restaurant
#213, 211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
403-762-5550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bison Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 133 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Pizza, Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Caribou
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Had a great date at the Bison. Inviting, comfortable atmosphere. We actually sat at the bar area facing Banff Ave and chatted with the bartender who provided exceptional service (which was a first on a trip with multiple dining experiences).

Cocktails are fresh and delicious. I recommend the vitamin C (Ginger Vodka, Carrot Juice, Pineapple Juice, and a Rosemary sprig)... Surprisingly tasty. My main course, New York Strip, was perfectly cooked with great seasoning.

All beef and products are from local farms and they even sourced bread baskets made of baked tree bark from the local Wild Flour shop in town.

This is a great spot for a date or nice meal with family. A bit pricey, but worthy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    191
    77
    33
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“what a great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The atmosphere is excellent, cozy and lively with good background music. We started with Caesars (they had bacon and asparagus!) and some awesome appetizers, the main courses were unique, my wife thought her beef steak was a little chewy but my bison short ribs were perfect, and the deserts were awesome. The Aussie waitress was a total sweetie and knew her stuff. It was the best place we ate at while in Banff.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The atmosphere is great and the food even better. Nice selection of beers on tap. We had the pulled pork nachos and the Big Bird pizza and they were both amazing. We will be back next time we are in banff.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious yet expensive dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Friday night and had no problem getting in. The restaurant is really clean with a nice atmosphere and decorations. We had the bison flatbread to start, leg of rabbit and striploin. The food was delicious! And the portion sizes were good. It was expensive but a nice fancy meal.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummmm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Banff on Christmas Eve 2012, what a winter wonderland.
I had booked The Bison from Australia on the reviews I had read.It was perfect for our 1st night in Banff.
A lovely table with great view, a very good menu and wine list. Our waitperson looked after us beautifully and the food was wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bison Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bison Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bison Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.