We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bison Restaurant

The Bison Restaurant
#213, 211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
403-762-5550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bison Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 129 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Pizza, Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Caribou
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I ordered the Bison ribeye, 10 ounces of meat, unfortunately mine was 6 ounces of fat, mostly so marbled in it couldn't be cut out. Great flavour but it left me disappointed. My husband had the duck and thought it was great. Creme brûlée for dessert was good, interesting with the rosemary. I expected more from the place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    176
    71
    32
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great food! Great wine! Great service!

I really enjoyed my meal and experience at The Bison. When I told the cab driver where we were going his reaction was "I'm jealous! If I had the night off that's exactly where I'd want to spend it. Best restaurant in town!" So we walked in with high expectations, and they were definitely met! Can't wait to return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Always great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Bison is one of my favourite restaurants. It has a bistro feel and is always busy and bustling with people so it is a good idea to reserve your table. You can dress up or be casual and not worry. The food is usually locally sourced and the menu is varied. The portion sizes seems fairly generous. I had the duck and that was really tender and is one of the favourites on the menu apparently.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgarr
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Definately a Good Choice:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

First time to Bison's: We were completely satisfied & would recommend it to anyone looking to dine in Banff.....Genuine Food, great service & value for money!
Keep it up!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Xmas Dinner at the Bison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We took a party of 9 to the Bison for Xmas dinner. It was a set menu with a variety of choices for young and old. The service was great, the food outstanding, and the value for money quite amazing. Banff restaurants can sometimes be overpriced - but this certainly was not. The atmosphere is good, and the staff seemed to enjoy working there.

We also ate at the downstairs pizza tavern, and were similarly impressed.

It is great to see a restaurant catering for different markets and occasions.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bison Restaurant also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bison Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bison Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.