We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bison Restaurant

The Bison Restaurant
#213, 211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
403-762-5550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bison Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 123 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Caribou
calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great food! Great wine! Great service!

I really enjoyed my meal and experience at The Bison. When I told the cab driver where we were going his reaction was "I'm jealous! If I had the night off that's exactly where I'd want to spend it. Best restaurant in town!" So we walked in with high expectations, and they were definitely met! Can't wait to return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    253
    137
    58
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Always great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Bison is one of my favourite restaurants. It has a bistro feel and is always busy and bustling with people so it is a good idea to reserve your table. You can dress up or be casual and not worry. The food is usually locally sourced and the menu is varied. The portion sizes seems fairly generous. I had the duck and that was really tender and is one of the favourites on the menu apparently.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgarr
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Definately a Good Choice:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

First time to Bison's: We were completely satisfied & would recommend it to anyone looking to dine in Banff.....Genuine Food, great service & value for money!
Keep it up!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Xmas Dinner at the Bison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We took a party of 9 to the Bison for Xmas dinner. It was a set menu with a variety of choices for young and old. The service was great, the food outstanding, and the value for money quite amazing. Banff restaurants can sometimes be overpriced - but this certainly was not. The atmosphere is good, and the staff seemed to enjoy working there.

We also ate at the downstairs pizza tavern, and were similarly impressed.

It is great to see a restaurant catering for different markets and occasions.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Nice posh restaurant. Some menu items are expensive but food is excellent. Great to see the chefs cooking. Great service. Very hot inside.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bison Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bison Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bison Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.