We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinning & Bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bison Restaurant

The Bison Restaurant
#213, 211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
403-762-5550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bison Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Caribou
Whitefish, Montana, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Dinning & Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Bison is a regular stop for me when in Banff. It never disappoints. Great bar with pro's making drinks. Excellent service and the food is wonderful.....they serve unique and flavorful dishes with a wide variety of ingredients to satisfy anyone's tastes. Lots of locals always there is a good sign.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    151
    62
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great smoked meats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you go for lunch or dinner I guarantee you'll be impressed , however if you're going skiing or going for a hike get them to make you a custom deli sandwich for your adventure and it probably will be one of the best sandwiches you've ever had......just be careful the bears might want a bite too !

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Tasty tasty tasty! High end food in a casual atmosphere. Bison short ribs and chicken with waffles are both delicious. Service was great too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“One of the best diniing experiences in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I recently visited Banff solo and asked all of the locals what their favourite restaurant was and surprisingly this one did not come up, but Trip Advisor had very positive reviews so I tried it. Boy am I glad I did. It was early on a weeknight (shortly after 5:30pm) so I had the restaurant almost to myself. I was seated upstairs beside the window with a great view of the mountains. I loved the food selections as everything is sourced from sustainable local farms and they show you on a map where the entrees are from. The wine and beer selections are large and varied, both by the glass and by the bottle and my waiter John was extremely knowledgeable about all the entrees, the beer and wine, even to the point of knowing many of the winemakers. He made my dining experience wonderful. He felt like an old friend after the meal. The servings are just the right size - not too large and a good price. It's my new favourite restaurant in Banff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One of best dining experiences of the year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I wanted a nice dinner out and always a bit skeptical of managing both with a 6 year old daughter....but Bison menu looked very nice and hey, if there is one place in Canada to eat beef it is Alberta. Needless to say coming from Florida were really looking for good spot and what more can be said, similiar to other reviews, Bison was excellent.

Made reservations in advance through courteous staff at Hidden Ridge Resort and greeted by hostess on arrival stating "you have the best table in the restaurant"...yeah, sure...umm...well, it was!!! Four high back chairs and beautiful table -- and could not have had a better server anywhere then John. There are waiters that know how to handle children in nice restaurants and those that do not...and John was truly exceptional. Made my daughter "best Shirley Temple" drink she has ever commented on....and to the nice photos he took, efficiently without hurrying service and great recommendations...down to the most incredible 3 homemade mini ice cream cones for her dessert. Really, excellent job to the entire restaurant....

Well, I had the Bison tenderloin - and my wife had the beef -- both were equally amazing - and John paired up some excellent wines (tried to find his suggested white Sumac Ridge I believe from Okanagan at wine stores to no avail - exceptional, he even brought out some raw sumac from kitchen where they use as unique spice when we inquired to the origins of sumac, really how often does service go to this positive extreme...have to say, again, and I do not waste a lot of time commenting on restaurants on this forum, but when service and quality and perfect evenings come, would be a shame not to recognize the great experience with Bison.

See you next November - and hope too many people do not request "best table" of course because of this...not that there are any bad ones - ambiance throughout restaurant was great and could see that a lot of locals there as well....we will be back is for sure!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bison Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bison Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bison Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.