We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of best dining experiences of the year!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bison Restaurant

The Bison Restaurant
#213, 211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
403-762-5550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bison Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 125 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Caribou
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One of best dining experiences of the year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I wanted a nice dinner out and always a bit skeptical of managing both with a 6 year old daughter....but Bison menu looked very nice and hey, if there is one place in Canada to eat beef it is Alberta. Needless to say coming from Florida were really looking for good spot and what more can be said, similiar to other reviews, Bison was excellent.

Made reservations in advance through courteous staff at Hidden Ridge Resort and greeted by hostess on arrival stating "you have the best table in the restaurant"...yeah, sure...umm...well, it was!!! Four high back chairs and beautiful table -- and could not have had a better server anywhere then John. There are waiters that know how to handle children in nice restaurants and those that do not...and John was truly exceptional. Made my daughter "best Shirley Temple" drink she has ever commented on....and to the nice photos he took, efficiently without hurrying service and great recommendations...down to the most incredible 3 homemade mini ice cream cones for her dessert. Really, excellent job to the entire restaurant....

Well, I had the Bison tenderloin - and my wife had the beef -- both were equally amazing - and John paired up some excellent wines (tried to find his suggested white Sumac Ridge I believe from Okanagan at wine stores to no avail - exceptional, he even brought out some raw sumac from kitchen where they use as unique spice when we inquired to the origins of sumac, really how often does service go to this positive extreme...have to say, again, and I do not waste a lot of time commenting on restaurants on this forum, but when service and quality and perfect evenings come, would be a shame not to recognize the great experience with Bison.

See you next November - and hope too many people do not request "best table" of course because of this...not that there are any bad ones - ambiance throughout restaurant was great and could see that a lot of locals there as well....we will be back is for sure!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    148
    61
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice steakhouse with regionally sourced ingredients and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

There are two restaurants at this location. Downstairs is a bar and pizza place and upstairs is The Bison restaurant with a more traditional steak house menu. We made a reservation on Open Table for 9pm but arrived early to see if they could fit us in. They were able to reshuffle and got us seated at 8:30. Unfortunetely, there was a rowdy office party going on at the same time.

The food and service itself was excellent. Our waitress was pleasant and attentive. I went for the bison and was not disappointed. They actually ran out of bison ribeye but did have bison sirloin available so I chose that instead. It was perfecty prepared (medium rare) and had great flavor. They have a good wine list and a decent selection of wines by the glass (1 wine choice per varietal like most restaurants these days). The duck breast and Alberta beef tenderloin also got rave reviews at our table.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I'm really finding it difficult to think of a more enjoyable dining experience anywhere. Bookings are essential because of its popularity although we managed to squeeze in without one. The wait staff are fantastic - very friendly and knowledgable. And the food is superb. Order the bison medallions - they are brilliant!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Bison is on the menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My partner and I enjoyed a fabulous meal at the Bison. The waitress was very attentive and friendly and explained parts of the menu to us non-Canadians who are not familiar with local cuisine. We enjoyed a great bottle of red wine from the Prospect winery and it was fairly reasonably priced too. All the food is sourced from Alberta and British Columbia which added to the charm for us, I can heartily reccomend the Bison Steak.
We will look to book a table again next time we are in Banff

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“An incredible November special is offered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Last night we visited the Bison Restaurant in Banff and what a great surprise. Unknown to us until we arrived, they had a special 3 course dinner for only $30 and their wine prices were very special as well (a bottle of Caymus was only $92.50 when it normally sells for $175-$225 at most places). The food was great ,,, the service excellent ... and the ambiance quite nice. Even with a party of 50 that came in at 6:30, our food was served hot and in a timely fashion. Whether you are visiting Banff or a local like us, this is a great place to dine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bison Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bison Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bison Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.