We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bison Restaurant

The Bison Restaurant
#213, 211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
403-762-5550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bison Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 131 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Pizza, Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Caribou
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I'm really finding it difficult to think of a more enjoyable dining experience anywhere. Bookings are essential because of its popularity although we managed to squeeze in without one. The wait staff are fantastic - very friendly and knowledgable. And the food is superb. Order the bison medallions - they are brilliant!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Erkimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Bison is on the menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My partner and I enjoyed a fabulous meal at the Bison. The waitress was very attentive and friendly and explained parts of the menu to us non-Canadians who are not familiar with local cuisine. We enjoyed a great bottle of red wine from the Prospect winery and it was fairly reasonably priced too. All the food is sourced from Alberta and British Columbia which added to the charm for us, I can heartily reccomend the Bison Steak.
We will look to book a table again next time we are in Banff

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMartins_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“An incredible November special is offered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Last night we visited the Bison Restaurant in Banff and what a great surprise. Unknown to us until we arrived, they had a special 3 course dinner for only $30 and their wine prices were very special as well (a bottle of Caymus was only $92.50 when it normally sells for $175-$225 at most places). The food was great ,,, the service excellent ... and the ambiance quite nice. Even with a party of 50 that came in at 6:30, our food was served hot and in a timely fashion. Whether you are visiting Banff or a local like us, this is a great place to dine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent food and fabulous service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Haven been traveling to Banff for the last ten years and the best meals have had in ages. Amazing. The food was excellent and the service was fabulous. Banff has lots of good restaurants but for a truly fabulous night out the bison must bel high on the list

Helpful?
Thank ryanmahaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmundston, NB
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best food we ever eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We like everyting. The server was awesome, listen to want we wanted to try, talk about where the things on the menu came from. I took the bison ribs - it was fabulous! My husband tried the bison ribeye. - it was more than fabulous. Even the dessert was unique (chocolate and mint cake). The wine was from BC and was perfect for our dish. Thanks to all staff!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bison Restaurant also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bison Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing