We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bison is on the menu!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bison Restaurant

The Bison Restaurant
#213, 211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
403-762-5550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bison Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 127 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Caribou
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Bison is on the menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My partner and I enjoyed a fabulous meal at the Bison. The waitress was very attentive and friendly and explained parts of the menu to us non-Canadians who are not familiar with local cuisine. We enjoyed a great bottle of red wine from the Prospect winery and it was fairly reasonably priced too. All the food is sourced from Alberta and British Columbia which added to the charm for us, I can heartily reccomend the Bison Steak.
We will look to book a table again next time we are in Banff

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    162
    64
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“An incredible November special is offered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Last night we visited the Bison Restaurant in Banff and what a great surprise. Unknown to us until we arrived, they had a special 3 course dinner for only $30 and their wine prices were very special as well (a bottle of Caymus was only $92.50 when it normally sells for $175-$225 at most places). The food was great ,,, the service excellent ... and the ambiance quite nice. Even with a party of 50 that came in at 6:30, our food was served hot and in a timely fashion. Whether you are visiting Banff or a local like us, this is a great place to dine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food and fabulous service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Haven been traveling to Banff for the last ten years and the best meals have had in ages. Amazing. The food was excellent and the service was fabulous. Banff has lots of good restaurants but for a truly fabulous night out the bison must bel high on the list

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmundston, NB
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best food we ever eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We like everyting. The server was awesome, listen to want we wanted to try, talk about where the things on the menu came from. I took the bison ribs - it was fabulous! My husband tried the bison ribeye. - it was more than fabulous. Even the dessert was unique (chocolate and mint cake). The wine was from BC and was perfect for our dish. Thanks to all staff!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
348 helpful votes 348 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stumbled on this place and we were glad we did. The food, service, and wine was outstanding! There are two levels to this place - the lower level has regular bar food but the upstairs has better food. The server was very knowledgeable about the wine, and we settled for the Boom Boom brand (forgot what type of wine it was). For dinner, we had the beef tenderloin wrapped in bacon and the duck breast, both served with potatoes and vegetables.

Out of all the restaurants in Banff, this was out favorite!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bison Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bison Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bison Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.