We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and fabulous service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bison Restaurant

The Bison Restaurant
#213, 211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
403-762-5550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bison Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 115 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Pizza, Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Caribou
Level Contributor
127 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent food and fabulous service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Haven been traveling to Banff for the last ten years and the best meals have had in ages. Amazing. The food was excellent and the service was fabulous. Banff has lots of good restaurants but for a truly fabulous night out the bison must bel high on the list

Helpful?
Thank ryanmahaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Edmundston, NB
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best food we ever eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We like everyting. The server was awesome, listen to want we wanted to try, talk about where the things on the menu came from. I took the bison ribs - it was fabulous! My husband tried the bison ribeye. - it was more than fabulous. Even the dessert was unique (chocolate and mint cake). The wine was from BC and was perfect for our dish. Thanks to all staff!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
246 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stumbled on this place and we were glad we did. The food, service, and wine was outstanding! There are two levels to this place - the lower level has regular bar food but the upstairs has better food. The server was very knowledgeable about the wine, and we settled for the Boom Boom brand (forgot what type of wine it was). For dinner, we had the beef tenderloin wrapped in bacon and the duck breast, both served with potatoes and vegetables.

Out of all the restaurants in Banff, this was out favorite!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BoysInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Great food and great service! Our server John had an uncanny ability for presentation and conversation. The Fall menu is a treat for anyone especially vegetarians! Thanks again John!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellydaawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and tasty dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Another successful experience trying a new restaurant! The food was delicious and cooked to perfection. We had the bison entrees and appetizers so as to experience the full meaning of the name. Our waiter was attentive and we had an enjoyable romantic dinner. The bread is dangerous - it's so warm and light that you really have trouble not eating it! I do wish that there had been more bison related meats on the menu, but for someone willing to try the exotic, this is the place to go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cdnburlesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bison Restaurant also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bison Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing