We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat, meat, more meat and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tony Roma's

Tony Roma's
138 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
403-760-8540
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Evesham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Meat, meat, more meat and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stumbled on this restaurant and luckily managed to get the last table in the lounge. I had the Fillet and Ribs main which was beautifully tender and very tasty all washed down with Tony Roma's famous 25fl oz Rickard's White. Lovely!
My husband chose the Rib sampler which was fantastic and definitely the ideal choice for a hungry carnivore. The kids meals were also a good size and went down very well with our 2.
The experience was so good we booked for our last night in Banff and in fact ate exactly the same. Faultless again and added the Onion loaf to start - be warned it's huge so half is sufficient.
Would highly recommend the food, service and ambience and will definitely be back next time we are over for skiing :)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    112
    60
    43
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ft saskatchewan alberta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lousy Service Donot Try”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stopped for lunch at the Banff outlet after driving from edmonton. We were very hungry and on a time crunch. It took over anhour to get a burgr and a chicken dish when we got the food it was cold . The waitress said it was the kitchens fault but then the food should have been hot. Overspent for a lousy meal never to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do not eat here!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We made reservations for supper tonight, family day long weekend. 3 families together (7 kids). We showed up on time, even knew what we were going to order before hand. Supper took 2 hrs (left after 9pm, no coffee/desert) despite being organized and ready to go. Still had to pay the 15% gratuity even though there was something wrong with the pop and one of our orders was incorrect. The temperature was sweltering hot in the restaurant and the kids, youngest age 3, were totally at the end of their ropes. One of our families still had to bundle the kids up and head home to Calgary. NEVER have I had to pay so much- the waitress wouldn't get the manager to change the bill- for such bad service. Don't spend your money here. I can't say enough crappy things about this place.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

It was my first time at Tony Roma's even though I had lived in Banff for a few months by now and I was extremely disappointed in the service and the food. Our server was very quiet and rude, did not know the menu at all and just did not seem to care about her job. The food took awhile though the restaurant was not busy, came out missing things as well and just didn't seem worth the price. I will not be going back in the future.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food, basic but good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have only been here twice and both were to pick up take out. The service has always been very good and everyone very friendly. Ordered the roasted vegetable salad which was very good. If you are looking for a family friendly place to eat this is perfect.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony Roma's also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Tony Roma's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony Roma's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.