We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so food, sub-par taste, nice ambiance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chilis Grill and Bar

Chilis Grill and Bar
461 Banff Ave | Fox Hotel & Suites, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
403-760-8502
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Mexican, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“So-so food, sub-par taste, nice ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

- Chili's is attached to Fox hotel
- Nice decor and ambiance
- Good service: Server was good and attentive
- Food was not so good:
- Half a rack of ribs with fries and original sauce: not much meat on the ribs, and the meat wasn't soft enough. Didn't fall off the bone. Meat taste was sub par. Fries were too salty. Disappointing.
- Wife had Margarita chicken. She said it was average. I had a taste, I agree, just average.
- Dessert: Shared molten chocolate cake. It was good.
- Price: proportionate with the quality
- I don't recommend due to sub par food taste.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    138
    81
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Got a seat by the window, which was nice. The food was good but a little overpriced. Our waitress (from Ireland!) was very friendly and had a great accent.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Greasy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Their version of Nachos are horrible and the spinach queso tasted like the nacho cheese you buy at 7-11 only with spinach added for effect.
On the good side, the beer was cold and the server was very good.The Margaritas are tasty and expensive, but good value as you get the entire amount of the shaker.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have been to Chili's all over, and to be honest, this has been the best of all the ones we have visited in our life time!

We were seated promptly by a friendly Englishman named George, and were also in really good hands with our server Jen, from Nova Scotia. She was very knowledgeable about the menu and also had some very good suggestions.

We had a lovely dinner and drinks with our family here! The Churrasco dish and Presidente Margaritas are to die for, and I am pretty certain we will order those again in the future.

They also offer gluten free options now, which was great for our family members with a Gluten Intolerance.

Chili's is great, affordable for Banff, and the staff really goes out of their way to make your dining experience special.

We will be back and recommend to anyone passing through,or staying in Banff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Average....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Went to Chilis due to a request from the family. The ambiance is nice and it is a franchise so they have a relatively varied menu. My main complaint was (and this is a message for the franchise I guess), the appetizer was THE WORST PRICE APPETIZER I HAVE ORDERED IN YEARS!!

My daughter ordered the cheese balls or some such thing, and they waiter brought a small bowl with 5 little tiny cheese balls for 4 people. We each ate one (the size of a small marble) and the kids cut the last one in two. I think it was $7.99!!! Ridiculous. This is the sort of thing that leads a bad taste in your mouth. The service was adequate, and the main courses were okay. I can't say I would recommend this place to a visitor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilis Grill and Bar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Chilis Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chilis Grill and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.