We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hiking experience ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canadian Mountain Holidays

Canadian Mountain Holidays
217 Bear St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J6, Canada
1-800-661-0252
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 32 Attractions in Banff
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Hiking Trails
Activities: Heli-skiing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: CMH Heli-Skiing and Summer adventures provides adventure travel in both the summer and winter seasons for all levels of travelers.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best hiking experience ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family and I have done the Canadian Mountain holiday heli hiking experience for the second time in five years and every time it gets better. The lodge is roomy, comfortable and has all the amenities of a high class resort. Sauna, jacuzzi, massages to name a few. But the real reason is the hiking in the mountains of Canada. Every day the helicopter takes you to pristine meadows bursting with wild flowers, emerald glacial lakes, streams with moss covered sides, views of glaciers everywhere. You can even climb mountains on the Via Farrata trip which is the most exile rating experience of my life. The guides know all about the history, flora and fauna. This outfit aims to please. The food is plentiful and delicious. There is so much more to write but it would be a book.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    1
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best skiing ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Even at the end of the season the skiing was amazing and the guides always managed to find the magic pitches, I couldn't have asked for a better ski experience

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The food is amazing. Stayed at the Bugaboo lodge and what a joke. Half the crowd will go to sit in a chair. The lodge manager was a pompous jerk (Dave), surprised his body supports his ego. All of the hikes and the terrain from the bugaboos lodge can be accessed via hiking from the logging road. I was almost embarrased to have to use the helicopter to get to these sites when an additional walk could access them without the cost of the polution.
Save your money.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the bugaboo lodge on our honeymoon in August 2002 and it was amazing. We had a fantastic time at the heli hikking experience. The room, the food and the guides were perfect and we hope to comeback soon. The canadian mountain holiday provide us with a unforgetable experience! Thanks!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“The Best Skiing in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just been on our fourth trip Heli skiing with CMH. This really is the best skiing in the world. They have a number of lodges throughout the area and most of them are remote high up in the mountains. Lodges are not really a good description because they are very luxurious. The food is fantastic and the guiding and service is second to none. A lot of care goes into making you feel sate in what is a dangerous sport. As a first timer i would recomend doing a powder Intro Group because skiing powder all day is never experienced in a resort. As long as you are a high end intermediate you will be able to cope and the instruction certainly helps. Expensive but definitely the best.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canadian Mountain Holidays also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Canadian Mountain Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canadian Mountain Holidays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.