We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samurai Sushi Bar and Restaurant

Samurai Sushi Bar and Restaurant
Fairmont Banff Springs | 405 Spray Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1J4, Canada
+1 403-762-6860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Samurai Sushi Bar and Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 123 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $18 - $59
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m.
Description: Experience the tastes of Japan at the Samurai Sushi Bar and Restaurant. You will find the freshest and finest sushi and sashimi in town as well as interactive Japanese hot pot dinners such as shabu-shabu and sukiyaki. Take a seat at the Sushi Bar and watch our Chefs work their magic right before your eyes.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Fun meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Enjoyed this restaurant very much. Make sure to make reservations for a table, not much seating. Sushi bar area seating not by reservation. Tried the special dinner menu which included miso soup, assorted tempura, assorted sushi and choice of shabu shabu or sukiyaki. Was very good and our table enjoyed fixing part of the meal on the hot plate at the table. Not open everyday though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    26
    8
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Banff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

If you don't mind spending a few extra dollars for quality food, I'd recommend the Samurai for sure. The staff from front to back are top notch. We had the chef special, and it was amazing. You can tell the chef what you like and dislike, and they'll customize a few dishes to your needs. The tuna tataki was my favourite, just melted soon as you put it in your mouth. Thanks to Ross, Frank and the rest of the staff for an awesome time, we'll hopefully see you soon!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Awesom Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

As there are thousands of Japanese that come to Banff even year, it makes sense there needs to be an amazing sushi spot. And this is it. I even spent new years with 50 japanese here once! It was a blast. Fresh, good , real sushi.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westport, ct
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Arigato!! Loved it...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Yes, we were there three nights in a row..it can be quick if you want to eat at the bar and head over to the spa...or you can doddle and relax with some sake while ordering the sukiyaki (recommended)..very fresh fish daily shipped from Vancouver.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Even if you don't like sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The service was very good. My wife loved the sushi and the hot plate do it your self meal was decent although it is quite expensive. A meal for 3 (1 child) cost about $140.00 including 2 beers.
I'd say it would be better for a couple sitting at the sushi bar as the restaurant itself is very plain.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samurai Sushi Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Samurai Sushi Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samurai Sushi Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.