We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High tea with a fantastic view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rundle Lounge

Rundle Lounge
405 Spray Avenue | Banff Alberta, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1J4, Canada
403 762 2211
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rundle Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 124 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: Barbecue, Hamburgers, Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. The closest bus stop is located directly out the front of the hotel on Spray Ave.
Description: Pleasant and bright by day, enchanting and intimate by night, the Rundle Lounge is where you can explore tried and true drinks of yesteryear. Compliment your spectacular view of the Bow Valley with a wide selection of fine wines, international beers, an extensive list of scotches & ports, and an all day dining menu!
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“High tea with a fantastic view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We booked afternoon tea at the Fairmont Hotel on a day off from skiing. We were a group of four and were the only people in the restaurant for afternoon tea when we sat down. The weather was cloudy and snowy with virtually no visibility. While we drank our aperitif awaiting the tea service the cloud lifted and voila...a wonderful mountain scene with meandering river and snow covered forest in the foreground....amazing. When we were ready the waitress brought over a trolley with a sample of the selection of tea leaves and infusions, which she explained thoroughly and passed each one over so we could smell the different aromas. Afternoon tea included fruit platter to start then the teas (we each tried two different teas) accompanied by a 3-tiered stand of bite sized finger foods, scones, macaroons, cake and sweet pastries. Truly a great experience. Only negative was the bread on the little sandwiches was dried out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    72
    62
    19
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Elgin
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice place to Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Rundle Lounge is located inside the Banff Fairmount Springs Hotel. We drove over to Banff after a day of skiing to have a drink and to see a friend who worked there. Lovely atmosphere and they even had entertainment going on. We had a few drinks and a flatbread and it was all very good. A great place to experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CB/BigD
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“So slow it became funny.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

You reach a point where service is so slow you just have to laugh. That is what we experienced at Rundle. I had a large group I was entertaining and we had drinks on one side of the lounge that went well. We moved to the other side to be seated and order dinner. We waited an inexcusably long time for dinner. Once it finally arrived it was ok, but the damage was done. This may be more a reflection of the server than the establishment.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Tea with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Rundle Lounge for afternoon tea on the last day of our holiday. This was our first time in Banff and had to visit this would famous hotel. Firstly,can I say the scenery in Banff is spectacular but when we were shown to our table we were blown away. This surely has to be the best view from any hotel. We were treated to a full explanation of the teas available ( about 10 ) and its origins. We were then given a fruit salad and a pot of tea of our choice. Then followed the tea stand with variety of sandwiches and cakes. Too many to eat but thankfully we were given a take out box. The quality and taste of the food was excellent, as you would expect in a hotel of this standard. We were offered fresh pots of tea of any of the varieties and there seemed to be no limit to how many we could have. The knowledge and service provided was exceptional and at $41 each, we thought this was great value. If you have time to take this experience in on your trip I would recommend it for the indulgence, we will certainly be revisiting

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Lounge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great spot to enjoy a meal and have a few drinks. All of the food was exceptional and thoroughly enjoyed by the whole family. There were items from some of the hotel restaurants on the menu as well as lounge specific items. We had a great relaxing meal with very attentive and friendly staff.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rundle Lounge also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Rundle Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundle Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.