We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch at it's best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bow Valley Grill

Bow Valley Grill
The Fairmont Banff Springs | 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1J4, Canada
+1 403-762-6860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bow Valley Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $26 - $34
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill, Family Fare, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. The bus stop is located directly outside the front of the hotel on Spray Ave.
Description: Savour the very best in authentic Rocky Mountain cuisine at the Bow Valley Grill - home to our legendary weekend brunch. Enjoy majestic views of Banff National Park in a relaxed family friendly atmosphere that celebrates the spirit of the outdoors, with handcrafted sculptures and tables constructed by local Albertan artisans. An impressive open kitchen provides an opportunity to see our talented chefs in action as they create delectable meals using seasonal organic produce and a focus from farm to table.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Brunch at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Booked a table weeks ago and requested a table with a view, which I got. Service was good and the choice was excellent. Everything we tried was very good and a lovely things do whilst on holiday near Banff. Thought it was reasonably priced and would certainly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Bow Valley Grill, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding Brunch at the Bow Valley Grill. We are so pleased you choose to spend the Thanksgiving Holiday with us!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    73
    28
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Best Meal of My Lifetime-Hands Down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Though I haven't been back to Banff for a couple years I felt I must tell all of the best dining experience I have ever encountered.
It was like a dream dinner with everything coming together to form Perfection.
The wild game entree is by far the best meal I have ever been served. The Elk and Venison were cooked to perfection, the game hen was of a good size and melted in your mouth. White asparagus is something else I had never tried and they were superb. The wine list extensive and the waiter was a great help in pairing. I have never seen such an extensive dessert bar from Baked Alaska to simple cookies and everything in between. The Waiter was wonderful, professional and knowledgeable. The scenery out the large windows was breath taking. I have actually dreamed of this place. It is without any doubt 5 diamond.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Bow Valley Grill, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback about your dining experience in the Bow Valley Grill. We are very appreciative of your comments and will share them with the team. We hope to see you again soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful brunch in a beautifu setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

On our recent trip to Banff, having brunch here was one of the highlights for me. And that says a lot, because Banff is so beautiful and there is so much to do! The history of this hotel, the setting, and the fabulous food combines to make a perfect meal. We went to brunch on Saturday, which was nice because it wasn't as crowded as I've heard Sunday brunch is. The food was amazing. I only wish I could have tried more of it, because the selection is huge and covers everything from macaroni and cheese to baked brie with cranberry sauce. Great selection of main dishes, and the desserts are to die for. If you are going to Banff, put this on your "to do" list, and you'll be glad you did!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Bow Valley Grill, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding Brunch in the Bow Valley Grill. We are delighted that it was the highlight of your trip and we hope to see you again soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Not as impressive as it once was”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Once, a dozen or more years ago, one could enjoy the brunch whilst viewing the wonderful mountainous scenery. Now, all dining is within the (nearly) windowless confines of the Bow Valley Grill.

The food remains very good - with an exceptionally wide variety of offerings.

It's still very much worth the trip, however when one tabulates the Park entrance fee, fuel, parking, and time - and the irony of no view - you may want to have other activities in mind for the trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Bow Valley Grill, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding Brunch. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food and service. If it's a view you are after you should join us for Afternoon Tea in the Upper Rundle Lounge. It has spectacular views of the Mountains and the Bow Valley! Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Introduction to Canadian Rockies Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Overall perhaps just very, very good, but close to excellent considering the building, location, history, all the partying going on all around you in multiple rooms, etc. It was our first dinner after we had flown into Calgary for 8 days in the Rockies. We loved the experience and I'm pretty sure you will too. This was also our introduction to sky high prices in the entire region for lodging (we did not stay there) and classy restaurants.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Bow Valley Grill, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments regarding the Bow Valley Grill! We really appreicate receiving positive comments from our guests. Thank you again and we hope you visit soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bow Valley Grill also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Bow Valley Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow Valley Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.