We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast buffet for everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bow Valley Grill

Bow Valley Grill
The Fairmont Banff Springs | 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1J4, Canada
+1 403-762-6860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bow Valley Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 127 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $26 - $34
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. The bus stop is located directly outside the front of the hotel on Spray Ave.
Description: Savour the very best in authentic Rocky Mountain cuisine at the Bow Valley Grill - home to our legendary weekend brunch. Enjoy majestic views of Banff National Park in a relaxed family friendly atmosphere that celebrates the spirit of the outdoors, with handcrafted sculptures and tables constructed by local Albertan artisans. An impressive open kitchen provides an opportunity to see our talented chefs in action as they create delectable meals using seasonal organic produce and a focus from farm to table.
Hawkesbury, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Breakfast buffet for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Although a little pricey for someone who doesn't eat much the variety and taste was great, there was something to cater to all tastes. I'm an omelet lover myself and really like to have my personal touch put to an omelet when I can and you could do this here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    69
    26
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice décor, good service, meals well served. High end dining with prices to match.
Venison and prime rib were very good. Clam chowder is worth trying as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were a table of 20, never an easy situation for a waiter or a kitchen, but Danny Day provided outstanding service -- personable and professional -- and the food was superb. Appetizers of corn and lobster chowder, romaine salad and seafood cocktail were very good. For our entrees, many expressed preferences -- e.g., salmon undercooked or well done, prime rib rare or the end cut -- and all requests were met perfectly. The portions were generous, but we all enjoyed the dessert buffet in any case!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great breakfast - food, views and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This has been our best breakfast in Canada to date. The service was friendly and attentive and the range and quality of food was excellent. Views to the mountains were great. A good way to start the day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Really delicious meat dishes at dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We ate dinner here with a large group of friends for a special occasion. As a couple, we had the venison medallions and the Alberta beef tenderloin. These two dishes were absolutely delicious. We were extremely satisfied. I have to echo the other comments about the place being a weird combination of high-end but with many, many families and a big mix of casual and dressy dress. I guess this is good for the family who wants to dine on good quality food, though. (Certainly everyone was behaved and there wasn't any disruption.) There just wasn't a romantic feel despite the fantastic views out the one wall of windows. However, that's not why we were there and we were happy. I can't remember the rest of the dishes ordered by our group but everyone seemed happy with their choices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bow Valley Grill also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Bow Valley Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow Valley Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.