We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Brunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bow Valley Grill

Bow Valley Grill
The Fairmont Banff Springs | 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1J4, Canada
+1 403-762-6860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bow Valley Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $28 - $36
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. The bus stop is located directly outside the front of the hotel on Spray Ave.
Description: Savour the very best in authentic Rocky Mountain cuisine at the Bow Valley Grill - home to our legendary weekend brunch. Enjoy majestic views of Banff National Park in a relaxed family friendly atmosphere that celebrates the spirit of the outdoors, with handcrafted sculptures and tables constructed by local Albertan artisans. An impressive open kitchen provides an opportunity to see our talented chefs in action as they create delectable meals using seasonal organic produce and a focus from farm to table.
Calgary
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Best Brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Have only eaten here for Brunch. Done that a few times as it is so good! Go there hungry, do not have breakfast! Amazing selection of food, you can go up as many times as you like. They will make you a fresh omlette, and are always re-stocking the impressive selection of food. We had two vegetarians in our party, and they had no trouble finding a good choice.
Whenever we have visitors coming over from the UK, we like to take them here to create that WOW factor!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    67
    24
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food, Amazing views during the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The breakfast buffet was incredible and the views were stunning from the dining area. I highly recommend a seat by the window!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“life saver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

whats not to like this place serves it all great for groups with different tastes, steaks to fish to anything you want

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Iconic restaurant in the Banff Springs Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

You can sit at your table, close your eyes, and imagine the early days of this place. Great food, great service and great company make for a wonderful, relaxing evening. It is a total experience for the senses, one to be savoured over time and never rushed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not as good as the other restaurants in the Banff Springs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We took advantage of Bon appetite Banff with a three course meal for $45. Upon arriving we were seated in the back near large families of children. I asked the hostess if we could have another seat a little more private as the restaurant was mostly empty and was told no! Not too many more guests came into the restaurant while we were there so it made it hard to understand why we could not have one of the other 20 empty tables.

The portions were great almost to big. Unfortunately half the table had to send back the food as it was cold. The waiter Danny was great and brought the table free hot chocolate to make up for this. While the service was very friendly it was not to the standard you would expect in a fancy fairmont restaurant, not even asking to take our coats.

The wine was limited and over priced and the decor not as inviting as the rest of the hotel. I think the attention to detail was a bit lacking. Compared to the Italian restaurant in the Banff Springs you can really see the difference between the two.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bow Valley Grill also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Bow Valley Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow Valley Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.