We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Steak in a great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elk and Oarsmen Pub & Grill

Elk and Oarsmen Pub & Grill
119 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta AB T1L, Canada
(403) 762-4616
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 124 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $1 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Good Steak in a great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

A fun night with good food, good service and lots going on with sport on screens accompanying the meal!
Steaks are a specialty which are cooked to order and very tasty with superb sweet potato chips in my case. There is a special night each week where steaks are half price!! Coming from the UK it was great to experience the Canadian version.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    150
    62
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice beer, nice food, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

It's a combinaison of a sport's bar and an Irish Pub, the staff is very nice. The manager spoke with everybody, is amazing! I went during NHL playoffs, every wall as a TV!

I eat the calamari with the chipotle/strawberry mayonnaise, it's very good. After that, I get the bison burger, very good also. The beer is not very expensive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Expensive but tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Come here for one of the best lunch views in town. We ordered the poutine with braised elk and a Caesar salad. We also enjoyed a couple beers. Service was prompt and friendly. Would go again and try other dishes. You pay for the view though. $36 for the two dishes and two beers.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“fun and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

good food choices, accommodating staff for food allergies. I love to eat in places where staff is aware of my food intolerance because it makes me feel safe. The menu was incredibly rich and, even if I had to limit my choices, my meat and vegetables and mushroom skillet were amazing.
Great patio upstairs for warm sunny days with an unbeatable view of the mountains around.
Big screens everywhere for sports lovers.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“nice place shame about the taste”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Soggy undercooked fries! Mushy fries are gross , a good pub should have a good staple of fish and chips and the oil was old and batter taistless.
ALL the glasses were dirty and some had lip prints on them..
The pizza looked like a freezer pizza, and the cheese didnt melt usually caused by cheese being frozen.
Rye and Coke should taste good, but they used such a cheap bar grade of Rye... not again, I would rather eat at East Side Marios

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk and Oarsmen Pub & Grill also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Elk and Oarsmen Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk and Oarsmen Pub & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.