We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elk and Oarsman Pub and Restaurant

Elk and Oarsman Pub and Restaurant
119 Banff Avenue | Second Floor Above The Ski Hub, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B6, Canada
(403) 762-4616
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 133 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $1 - $70
Cuisines: Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Really good atmosphere at this restaurant. Even though it was full we got seated pretty quickly The meals were pretty good. The boys got the Steak sandwich that was the special of the day. The pasta however wasn't that tasty. Great service from the friendly server.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    191
    83
    33
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband, teenage daughter and I ate at the Elk and Oarsmen on our last night in Banff. We had the Elk Nachos which were really good. My daughter had the ribs which were a little dry but ok and my husband and I had the pizza which was also quite enjoyable. The servings were VERY generous. We could have made a meal for the both of us on the Nachos alone. The serving staff were very friendly and courteous. The only small complaint we had was the music was very loud which made any type of conversation difficult. On the whole, we enjoyed the restaurant and would go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Have on mind that everything more expensive in Canada, good quality food, good service, good wine, very good onion soup.....

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome pub - great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Excellent meat dishes and burgers with generous sides at a reasonable price. Great pub atmosphere with plenty of live hockey. Don't miss Everything Elk! Special on Wednesdays.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The place was completely packed when we got there in the evening, we got one of few seats left in the patio upstairs. Bison burger and nachos were both amazing! GREAT view from the patio upstairs!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk and Oarsman Pub and Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Elk and Oarsman Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk and Oarsman Pub and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.