We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD PUB FOOD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elk and Oarsmen Pub & Grill

Elk and Oarsmen Pub & Grill
119 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta AB T1L, Canada
(403) 762-4616
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 123 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $1 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“GOOD PUB FOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

elk nachoes and wings are a home run, usually have great drink specials, not to mention a great mountain view.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    134
    147
    61
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I have been to the Elk a number of times over the years, and it never disappoints!

Great atmosphere, and great beers. It is the place to go to watch a game!

The food is phenomenal, and I am a fan of their tomato soup and Elk and Bison burgers.

As I mentioned, I have been here like 100 times, and I have always been served well. The food has always been top. I have never left hungry or disappointed with either quality or service.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great pub and eatry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a great pub that always has some sport playing and great food. The only sad thing I can say is they changed up there meat platter to something less epic. Don’t let this stop you from stopping in to eat, drink and enjoy the atmosphere... our even just people watch from the windows at the passer byers.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Popped in for a meal. It was ok i suppose, nothing special, Good service though. The bar man was a bit off hand with us though when we went to sit at the bar after our meal.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jellydog
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good most of the time, but can be poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My hubby & I are regular visitors to Banff & have tried many different places to eat & drink, the Elk started out really good, reasonably priced beers & food, good menu & food, typical fare is burgers, salads, steaks, fries, etc.

Service is always good & friendly.
However we have eaten there on a few occasions more recently when the food has been mediocre, quality not as good & arrives cold from the kitchen.
We will however go back & try again as there's always a good atmosphere & it's a good spot for people watching.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk and Oarsmen Pub & Grill also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Elk and Oarsmen Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk and Oarsmen Pub & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.