We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elk and Oarsmen Pub & Grill

Elk and Oarsmen Pub & Grill
119 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta AB T1L, Canada
(403) 762-4616
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 122 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $1 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice location right in town although tricky to find which seems to keep folks away ad make it a little more accessible. Everything on the menu is well priced and tasty.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    132
    145
    55
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
st-mathieu du parc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, service and food, great specials, nice view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Located on the second floor with big windows, it makes it easier to see the mountains. I went there 3-4 times for different occasions and was always satisfied.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Location, OK food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Chosen purely for its location on a sunny Sept day the rooftop bar was a big draw. The food was good for bar food and the waitresses have a tough job balancing the plates up the steep stairs. We managed to knock over a seafood martini, but the staff were great and replaced it without a problem. Caesar salads were very good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We staying in Banff for two nights and really enjoyed our evening meal here, so much so that we returned on our second night to eat here again. The food was really tasty and reasonably priced. On each night they had a beer offer on making it good value.

There is a small terrace on the roof top which offers views over the town to the mountains around, if you can get a space up here then it is a great place to sit and enjoy the evening it the pleasant atmosphere. Highly recommended if eating out in downtown Banff.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent rack of baby back ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

On August 23, 2012 I had dinner with 3 friends at the Elk & Oarsman Pub & Grill. The service was very good. I had an excellent 1/2 rack of baby back ribs, sweet potato fries, coleslaw, and chocolate mike for $20.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk and Oarsmen Pub & Grill also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park

Been to Elk and Oarsmen Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk and Oarsmen Pub & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.