We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Nonsense - Does Exactly What It Says On Tin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elk and Oarsman Pub and Restaurant

Elk and Oarsman Pub and Restaurant
119 Banff Avenue | Second Floor Above The Ski Hub, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B6, Canada
(403) 762-4616
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 132 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $1 - $70
Cuisines: Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“No Nonsense - Does Exactly What It Says On Tin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

If what you're looking for is a bar that does decent food then look no further than the Elk & Oarsman.

This is a decent bar with a great atmosphere, but unlike a lot of similar venues I've been too they also serve a fantastic selection of food options. I tried the elk burger whilst my wife had venison, and we were presented with some great quality meat.

It's also worth noting that the service was great, and the staff are extremely warm and welcoming.

If you're looking for fine dining and silver service then best you give this place a miss, however if it's a warm inviting atmosphere and good honest grub you're after then the Elk & Oarsman will be right up your street.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    187
    80
    32
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Waiter Curtis and manager Dave made the night! Gluten free menu A+++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

A party of 8 of us had a small function at the Elk and Oarsman November 10 and both the manager and our waiter made the night nothing short of perfect. Each request we had they made happen without hesitation or issue. We asked the waiter (Curtis) to put a bottle of vodka in the freezer so we could order shots and they did no problem. He was attentive and always around the table if we needed something.

The price for the 8 of us for appetizers and many many drinks and shots was amazingly reasonable.

For food we ordered the nachos, seafood martini's, ribs, wings and some of the Gluten free items which were the best we have tasted.

Would recommend and come back here any time, cannot thank you guys enough!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for drinks....avoid the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We went to this pub for a girlfriends stag. The service was as good as to be expected with a server that was given too many tables at once. We ordered ceasers, they were delicious especially when served with a hot pepper garnish. The wine list is more than reasonable in price point. (Always a positive!). However, we order the lettuce wraps and bison burger for dinner. I don't know how they managed but the lettuce wraps were greasy. The bison burger was undercooked, they were kind enough to replace it with a fresh burger but upon arrival it was flat in taste and very salty. We were told the burger would be taken off our bill, we had to point out that it wasn't. This was corrected very quickly! I do have to say again that under the circumstances our server was great!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“FUN IRISH PUB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great place to go if you want a cocktail after dinner. Located right in the heart of Banff, and within walking distance from most hotels in the area. Did not try the food, but the drinks were reasonable. Good selection of dark beers.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Ok place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stopped for an evening meal. The appearance is nothing special - typical bar& grill.
So if this is the type of place you like than this is a good place.
Upon entering, I was told to sit anywhere. It took awhile before the server realized I was there but after that the service was friendly and good.
Since it was "Everything Elk" Wednesday, I ordered the elk steak with roasted potato and assorted vegetables.The food was delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk and Oarsman Pub and Restaurant also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Elk and Oarsman Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk and Oarsman Pub and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.