We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Columbia Icefields Parkway Tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discover Banff Tours

Discover Banff Tours
215 Banff Ave | Box 1566, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
(403) 760-5007
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #8 of 38 Activities in Banff
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Discover Banff Tours provides small personalized tours in Banff National Park. We offer activities in both summer and winter for individuals and groups. Our tours are smaller giving you plenty of time to chat with our friendly, local and professionally trained guides.
Bonn, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Columbia Icefields Parkway Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I took the Columbia Icefields Parkway tour with Discover Banff Tours. The guide (Magda) was really nice and told many funny and interesting stories. She really knows the area. The drive to the Icefields is spectacular and I loved it. Good lunch with sandwich, brownies and hot chocolate. The Columbia Icefields are great, but not the best part of this tour. I can totally recommend this tour (ask in the store if Magda is the guide!).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    94
    18
    14
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Tour Guide Outfit for the Columbia Icefield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I'm pretty well traveled and have had my share of shoddy tours in many places around the world. It's therefore very refreshing to see an outfit where the staff are passionate about the local attractions. I was quite impressed with the tour guide we had for the day tour out to the Columbia Icefield. The Mercedes van was spacious and comfortable, which was important to us because we were traveling with a two-year old. The tour guide was passionate about the local history, geology, and geography of the area, and he made the trip thoroughly memorable with his knowledge of the topography and regional history.. A decent packed lunch and cookies/hot chocolate/fresh water were also included. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this tour to anyone. Columbia Icefields are interesting to see, but the drive there is just as memorable as there are some amazing lakes, mountains, lookout sites etc.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frizington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chickadee Snowshoe on 30-03-2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our daughter booked us on the Snowshoe trip to Chickadee valley with Lydia & Jeff as guides.
T'was a superb experience. We were lucky with the weather, the snowy landscape was magnificient and grandiose, real eye-candy. Our group of 12 covered quite a range of physical ability, yet, somehow our guides ensured we all had a great time. It was our first ever time snowshoeing but we enjoyed it so much that we hired some and a few goes by ourselves later that week.
I would recommend this trip to anyone wanting to have a good time trying something new.

Thanks to Lydia & Jeff

Pascal

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Johnston Canyon Icewalk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The guide Megda is very nice and great. She is fantastic and knowledgeable. After she explains, it is easy to understand. I have lots of questions, she always answers me in detail. Nice guide, scenery, bus and equipments. Nice ending with hot chocolate and maple cookies.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Johnston Canyon Icewalk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have lived in Alberta all our lives and have been lucky enough to come to Banff a few times every year. We have taken the Johnston Canyon walk by ourselves in the summer. What a different experience going in April. Our tour guide "Magda" was so knowledgeable. We found out things we never new about. We will go on another tour with this company again. I hope Magda is our guide again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Banff Tours also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Discover Banff Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discover Banff Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.