We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best meal in Banff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge

Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge
521 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
403.762.4442
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 124 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Great steaks, a casual ambiance and friendly, very knowledgeable staff are the proud and reliable trademarks of The Keg Steakhouse & Bar. You'll find a truly comfortable and satisfying dining atmosphere accompanied by a fun and casual bar setting. Each is a welcoming destination on its own, and together they create an energetic and inviting, uniquely gratifying restaurant experience. The Keg is a casual steakhouse with a contemporary flavor - an attractive combination for any occasion.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best meal in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

During our 10 night stay in Banff we ate out five time and at the hotel restaurant four times. Every. Dal was good but the Keg in the Caribou hotel was by far the best meal in town.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    197
    65
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Reliably good food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Staying at the Caribou we ate in the Keg on 3 occasions. First night in after a long journey we ate in the restaurant but ate from the bar menu. Would highly recommend the burger with added cheese and burger as a welcome meal to Canada!
We then ate on another 2 occasions having got the 2:30 bus from the hill and once showered and sorted went to the lounge bar with the kids. We sat in the bar and enjoyed a number of cocktails, beers, hot chocolates and soft drinks over the nights with our 2 girls. Mark the bar member was very welcoming and made us feel very much at home. He was very attentive of our needs and our 'little ladies' were very impressed with the hot chocolate and the orange juice and 7up that kept coming :) They also commented that he made a better hot chocolate than the breakfast serving crew! Many thanks.
We stayed for dinner on 2 occasions and I cannot fault the food or the service. On the first occasion we decided to share a number of plates with nachos, calimari and salad making a tasting light meal. We returned to burgers for our last night and again they didn't disappoint. having had the kids version on the first night our eldest decided to upgrade to adult size the second time round as they were so tasty :)
Breakfast in the Keg was equally as good and I would recommend either the buffet or food from the menu. The latter are more consistently hot but both are a hearty start to the day.
thanks for great holiday memories and I am sure we will be back.....

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We love the Keg anywhere in Canada, so having it in our hotel was a bonus! Excellent service and a much more casual setting than other cities which made it a great comfortable place for dinner. The only downside was that they were a let down for room service. Menu was limited and the food showed up cold and dry as if it wasn't covered for the trip to our room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing steak!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I wouldn't normally order steak in a restaurant but the steak was so good here we had to go back on another night of our holiday! the grilled pepper and asparagus were a nice touch. Would highly recommend :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

You simply can't go wrong with the Keg. I have never had a bad steak there. We chose the location close to the Fox hotel and we could even charge it to our room.
Open late and friendly staff

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.