We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge

Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge
521 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
403.762.4442
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 122 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Great steaks, a casual ambiance and friendly, very knowledgeable staff are the proud and reliable trademarks of The Keg Steakhouse & Bar. You'll find a truly comfortable and satisfying dining atmosphere accompanied by a fun and casual bar setting. Each is a welcoming destination on its own, and together they create an energetic and inviting, uniquely gratifying restaurant experience. The Keg is a casual steakhouse with a contemporary flavor - an attractive combination for any occasion.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

It was a great place to go eat with a lovely ambiance. Waiters are friendly and give great service.

The meal itself was fantastic apart from my main. The steak I had (20oz Rib) was underdone and very very fatty. I mentioned this to our server and he sorted it out. The manager came over, apologized and discounted it from our bill. He also threw in a free desert.

Despite this, I would certainly eat here again. The starter was huge and we shared, the other main was fantastic and the desert was incredible. (Go for the three mini deserts) WOW!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    276
    180
    58
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morinville, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

For starters, I loved the hot freshly baked sourdough bread with whipped butter. Crusty on the outside but when you break the bread it's so soft on the inside. Steak was grilled just right to my liking. However, it would have been nice if they had some steak sauce on the side. The staff were nice and friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great steak !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

i had a rib eye steak and get it perfect medium like i order it.
i only miss something like herb butter or another sauce and not only ketchup.
but i would recommend it :-) and nice attentive servers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is the best place in town for a steak. Not to be missed and advisable to book. We have gone at least once on each visit to Banff.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great breakfast stop!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My family and I hit the buffet before a day of skiing. Average pricey side for buffets, but everyone was happy and the food was great. Service was excellent and the atmosphere very nice. We aren't early early birds, got there around 0900 hrs. and we were seated within 5 min. My kids really loved the eggs benedicts that were on the buffet.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.