We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge

Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge
521 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
403.762.4442
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 122 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Great steaks, a casual ambiance and friendly, very knowledgeable staff are the proud and reliable trademarks of The Keg Steakhouse & Bar. You'll find a truly comfortable and satisfying dining atmosphere accompanied by a fun and casual bar setting. Each is a welcoming destination on its own, and together they create an energetic and inviting, uniquely gratifying restaurant experience. The Keg is a casual steakhouse with a contemporary flavor - an attractive combination for any occasion.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

this restaurant is one of the best places to grab a steak in banff. If you are on holiday in banff then i suggest you check this place out. Best in the evenings because of its atmosphere!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    272
    178
    58
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Among Banff's best places to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Having been to several Keg restaurants across Alberta, I find steak lovers can’t really go wrong with this chain. Not the fanciest, or the greatest steakhouses but very affordable and consistently very good food and drinks. Didn’t write any reviews for other Kegs, however I find this location at the Cariboo Lodge stand out from others and deserves a positive review. They have an above average ambiance, nice decor that blends well with Banff, clean cutlery, excellent and genuinely amicable staff, efficient and friendly courteous servers and non-pushy (no phony “Is everything OK?” interruptions) who deserve good tips, and great steaks!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Some of the best food I have ever tasted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I ate hear while staying at the Banff Caribou Lodge in September, the staff were welcoming and friendly and the food is some of the best I have ever tasted.
The steaks are the best!
Would not hesitate to recomend this place to people and I do!
Would go back for sure without a doubt!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Cracking steak!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have eaten at a fair few Kegs now but I have to say that this location was excellent, far better than the downtown location. We both had the filet mignon albeit hubby had a blue cheese topping and I had the bacon wrapped one. Both cooked to perfection as requested. The caesar salad to start was more than enough for both of us (it came as part of the classic meal) plus the meal comes with bread which is served warm. The tourist resorts also charge more for their meals eg. Calgary was around $3/$4 cheaper per item and the wine a couple of dollars less per glass of wine. All in all, a fab meal once again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good holy moly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

After reading the reviews we were unsure if we should head here for something to eat but as it's right next door to our Hotel we thought, why not. We were not disappointed.

We ordered Prime Rib sandwich and a steak sandwich and my boyfriend who considers himself something of an expert on anything meat related, being a butchers son was moved to tears by his meal and I came close. The portion size was perfect, enough to fill you right up but not so large you ended wasting half of it or felt uncomfortable trying to move afterwards.

Normally I struggle to eat a meal when out in a restaurant but before I knew it my plate was cleared and I was left sighing happily.

The service was good, the waiter was friendly and informative and fairly attentive.

Inside it was quiet and relaxed, the decor was perfectly appropriate and really set the tone of the room.

I really can't recommend this highly enough. The Kiwi Tini was delicious and refreshing and if you feel the need for desert the fudge brownie is beautiful too.

Price wise, I found it expensive ( I'm quite reluctant to spend too much money on eating out) but absolutely worth every penny.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park

Been to Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.