We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking steak!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge

Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge
521 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
403.762.4442
Update restaurant details
Ranked #10 of 120 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Great steaks, a casual ambiance and friendly, very knowledgeable staff are the proud and reliable trademarks of The Keg Steakhouse & Bar. You'll find a truly comfortable and satisfying dining atmosphere accompanied by a fun and casual bar setting. Each is a welcoming destination on its own, and together they create an energetic and inviting, uniquely gratifying restaurant experience. The Keg is a casual steakhouse with a contemporary flavor - an attractive combination for any occasion.
cornwall uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Cracking steak!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have eaten at a fair few Kegs now but I have to say that this location was excellent, far better than the downtown location. We both had the filet mignon albeit hubby had a blue cheese topping and I had the bacon wrapped one. Both cooked to perfection as requested. The caesar salad to start was more than enough for both of us (it came as part of the classic meal) plus the meal comes with bread which is served warm. The tourist resorts also charge more for their meals eg. Calgary was around $3/$4 cheaper per item and the wine a couple of dollars less per glass of wine. All in all, a fab meal once again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    246
    171
    52
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good holy moly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

After reading the reviews we were unsure if we should head here for something to eat but as it's right next door to our Hotel we thought, why not. We were not disappointed.

We ordered Prime Rib sandwich and a steak sandwich and my boyfriend who considers himself something of an expert on anything meat related, being a butchers son was moved to tears by his meal and I came close. The portion size was perfect, enough to fill you right up but not so large you ended wasting half of it or felt uncomfortable trying to move afterwards.

Normally I struggle to eat a meal when out in a restaurant but before I knew it my plate was cleared and I was left sighing happily.

The service was good, the waiter was friendly and informative and fairly attentive.

Inside it was quiet and relaxed, the decor was perfectly appropriate and really set the tone of the room.

I really can't recommend this highly enough. The Kiwi Tini was delicious and refreshing and if you feel the need for desert the fudge brownie is beautiful too.

Price wise, I found it expensive ( I'm quite reluctant to spend too much money on eating out) but absolutely worth every penny.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just another Keg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We ate at the Keg on our way through Banff. We were sat at the back it was cold. The Calamari was lacking flavour if it wasn't for the fried jalapeño with it could have been fried rubber. My wife had the blue cheese filet it was excellent. I had BBQ chicken the taste was good nothing special. The stuffed potato is always good but how can you mess up potato, butter, sour cream & bacon. My daughter had the Thai chicken it was horrible.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Steak was top notch, desert was even better. One of the best meals we have had in Banff so far... Special mention to Keith who helped us out with the best picks off the menu, great service

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

food poor on both times we ate here. very expensive for very little quality,. service average but the bar staff are the best. 5* for the staff

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.