We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Keg never disappoints...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge

Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge
521 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
403.762.4442
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 125 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Great steaks, a casual ambiance and friendly, very knowledgeable staff are the proud and reliable trademarks of The Keg Steakhouse & Bar. You'll find a truly comfortable and satisfying dining atmosphere accompanied by a fun and casual bar setting. Each is a welcoming destination on its own, and together they create an energetic and inviting, uniquely gratifying restaurant experience. The Keg is a casual steakhouse with a contemporary flavor - an attractive combination for any occasion.
Alberta
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“The Keg never disappoints...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We ate at the Keg in the Caribou twice, once for supper and once for breakfast. Our steak and salmon dinner, with the goat cheese app, were wonderful. My 12 oz steak was done to perfection - loved it. We got a great deal on a bottle of wine and were allowed to take what was left back to our room. Service was lovely; our young waiter was hilarious and attentive. We had asked to be moved away from our initial location because some other patrons were annoying loud, and the move was accomplished graciously and without any fuss. The next morning we had the buffet breakfast, seated by the fireplace. The buffet was reasonably priced at $15.95 per and had all the normal hot and cold stuff, quite nice. Service was again friendly and efficient. Altogether enjoyable.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    207
    69
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An unforgettable holiday was had by all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Unfortunately on the 15th of September we had to return home after a fantastic holiday in Canada, we ate in many places and out of all of the Restaurants we ate at The Keg was by far the best. We have visited The Keg at the Caribou Lodge on many occasions as this is where we stay when we are in Banff and it’s not the first holiday to here, our enjoyment here was made an even better experience by our waiter Keith. What a star he is, I have a really serious allergy to any dairy products but this was not a problem, I was in safe hands, he made sure the kitchen were aware of this and everything was fantastic, our steak was always cooked to perfection, nothing was too much trouble. We have been going to the keg in Banff since 2006 we have been served by many waiters, some training and some established but none as good as Keith, we arrived as customers but left as friends.

We would also like to thank the restaurant managers sorry but I can’t remember their names one was a very bubbly young lady the other a very nice young man who was also prepared to take extra care to check out ingredients for me. Not forgetting the chefs, you never get to meet them but the fine quality of the food they send out night after night never changed no matter how busy they are its always excellent.

We recently recomended the Keg to friends who visited earlier in the season and out of they whole holiday they reported back that the meal here was the best of their whole holiday.

The only down side was a grumpy, personality less bar man who could do with a good tickle!! I don’t want to be too rude.

We will return thank you everyone x
We all wish we were there now

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No surprises”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

That's the great thing about The Keg. Great consistent food no matter what location. Have the Ceasar Salad instead of the Wedge salad though. My only tip.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carseland, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A disappointing meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I'm sorry to say that we had our first ever disappointing meal at a Keg restaurant. We dine at the Keg in Calgary regularly and have never had a bad meal. The meal we had in Banff was not bad, per se, but my bacon-wrapped filet was equivilent to a steak sandwich (definitely not worth $38) and my husband had prime rib and crab - the prime rib was dry and the crab legs were soft and had very little meat in them. Hopefully it was just an off-night for this particular restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Old Faithful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went to The Keg for dinner while in Banff and as per usual it was fantastic. Very rarely are we disappointed with a steak dinner at The Keg and when and if that happens it is at the North Edmonton location. Great food, warm atmosphere, excellent service ~ a bit pricey but at the end of the day worth it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keg Steakhouse & Bar - Banff Caribou Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.