We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you need a pint of coffee...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Evelyn's Coffee Bar

Evelyn's Coffee Bar
215 Banff Ave | P.O Box 238, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A4, Canada
+1 403-762-2000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Takeout
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“When you need a pint of coffee...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

...this is where you go. Well, maybe not a pint, but a large latte really was a large latte. Nicely made too! We ate/drank in this and the sister store three of four times during our two days in Banff and were impressed each time. The coffee and smoothies were delicious and the sandwiches were really great value (as were the home-made-looking sausage rolls). This made for a really nice alternative to a hotel breakfast and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    72
    39
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Coffee!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The New Zealand girl made me the best coffee I have had in Canada!!! I'll be back for her to make me more delicious coffee!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Will not go again.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Evelyn's coffee is conveniently located centrally on Banff Ave. While the location is wonderful, their coffee is not. My husband had a cup of brewed self-serve coffee that made your standard gas station equivalent seem gormet. It had clearly sat in a burner for far too long. I had an very long wait for my Americano, which was a terrible, weak, watery concoction that once doctored, was basically cream-flavored water. The staff clearly couldn't have cared less about their jobs or their patrons; service was slow, sloppy, and generally unfriendly. Nothing about this place instilled that neighbourhood-coffee-shop feeling.

I typically gravitate toward non-big-chain coffee shops (read: avoid Starbucks) because I typically find better quality in local shops. This was a clear exception. Neither my husband nor I will ever go back.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123cookie614, Owner at Evelyn's Coffee Bar, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you and your husband had such a bad experience.
Can you tell me what day and time it was and which location?
The one at 215 Banff Ave with the retail ,Coffee World or Evelyn's Again at 119 Banff Ave?

Thank you,

Marini & Wout Pauw.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great coffee bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Enjoyed a delicious mocha and pastry. Also bought some great coffee lip balm. The prices were reasonable. The service fantastic.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Still great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We really like Evelyns, some have nice outside tables and one of the only places that carries earl grey lavendar tea and white pear tea. Staff always are friendly and helpful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evelyn's Coffee Bar also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Evelyn's Coffee Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evelyn's Coffee Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.