We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Toro Restaurant

El Toro Restaurant
429 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1l 1A6, Canada
403.762.2520
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 132 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: El Toro after a long day skiing or for your romantic dinner in our warm and cosy atmosphere! Tapas, Cahteaubriand for two or delicious steak will be sure to satisfy all taste buds!
London, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Vino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Wednesdays kill a couple hours waiting for the night life to heat up with $6 glass of wine special. It is close to the hotels at the far end of town and has a nice selection of wines by the glass.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    121
    38
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“New Years at El Torro”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We decided to go to the El Torro for New Years partially because it was close to our hotel and partially because of the good ratings it had received on TripAdvisor. (which we always place a lot of trust in). We had booked our table in advance, but when we got there, we were greeted by the hostess and shown our table which was right at the front door. Since I wanted a romantic evening with my girlfriend, I didn't want to be sitting at the front door about 2 feet from the hostess. We refused the table and sat at the bar for New years - even though there were several tables that were empty (reserved but no shows). The bar tender wound up being our server for the evening and although she did fine, it was obvious it wasn't her regular job. The meal was generally good and I felt was decent (but not great) value. Overall, with the exception of the table debacle, it was a nice evening out.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chateaubriand Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The entire experience was GREAT!
We would recommend the El Toro to everyone.
Besides dinner we also enjoyed a super breakfast at El Toro.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious Spanish/Mexican Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Felt like something a little different for dinner and El Toro did not disappoint. They had a great range of tapas to share and we enjoyed every plate from the stuffed mushroom to the beef skewers, the empanadillas and the manchego, all delicious! We finished off with a chicken quesadilla which was lovely, fresh ingredients and great flavour. Our server Nina was fantastic and the ambiance very nice. The only very minor critique is that the wine list by the glass is fairly limited but don't let that stop you from visiting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We had a good breakfast here. The combo was huge and the teenaged boys had a hard time finishing it!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to El Toro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Toro Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.