We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Toro Restaurant

El Toro Restaurant
429 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1l 1A6, Canada
403.762.2520
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $13 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: El Toro after a long day skiing or for your romantic dinner in our warm and cosy atmosphere! Tapas, Cahteaubriand for two or delicious steak will be sure to satisfy all taste buds!
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Less expensive than many of the very expensive restaurants in Banff. Especially if you order some of the Mexican dishes. We really enjoyed the Quesadillas.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    91
    30
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb restaurant, would recommend to anyone visiting Banff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

What a wonderful place! Fantastic staff. Well experienced, they care about each and every customers service! Went above and beyond to get me a pickle (made by chef's mom-- it was fantastic!!!). Would recommend in a heart beat if you're browsing restaurants in Banff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Overrated Hotel Restaurant with Poor Service and Unseasoned Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We visited the restaurant in the evening. Seeing it highly rated on Trip Advisor, we figured it would be a good choice. Wrong!

The service was incredibly slow. The food was unseasoned. We had to return our main course as it tasted very bland. The second choice was just as bad.

The accompaniments of undercooked potatoes and veg were the same on everyone's main course in the restaurant. It was like a mass produced set menu. Very dull.

This restaurant is trying to be everything to everyone and despite claiming to be a Spanish/Latin restaurant, the menu had all sorts from pasta to kleftico and from tapas to steaks.

A glorified second rate hotel restaurant at best. We would not recommend it.

Our complaints were not passed to management. We received no concession for the bad food or service despite our complaints. They were clearly not bothered. We even had to wait 20mins to get the bill and settle up.

Terrible.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Excellent breakfasts for all 4 of us that dined and good price.
Good service and nice atmosphere. We will undoubtedly stay at Irwins and have breakfast here next time we come through Banff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good margaritas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This restaurant had good margaritas made from scratch! The menu had nice variety, and the food was a good value. I had the beef fajitas, which were really good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to El Toro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Toro Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.